Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wished we could have stayed longer

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Absolutely beautiful place and grounds! Would love to come back and really experience it all we were just an overnight stay so didn't have the time to truly enjoy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Don't waste your money. rm 426

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: I liked the swimming pool
Cons: Renovate the rooms,Hire new cooks that care about food, And background check the cleaning service so your guests don't "lose" wallets.
Location: Taos is wonderful. It is a gorgeous area filled with lovely things.
The first hour we were there the toilet started overflowing with feces but none of us had used the facilities. Maintenance man plunged and walked through the feces water through the bathroom and foyer. Called for a cleaning lady that just sloshed mop water around. Super gross. The beds were really uncomfortable. They need to update the beds perhaps because there were springs poking and hurting all night. I had 2 beds and nobody but the baby slept. We left our wallet in the nightstand and now it is gone forever. So... The food is overpriced and pretty bad. I was hoping to have a really nice and relaxing stay before school started again but was so exhausted and now I need to replace and cancel cards that haven't been turned in to the lost and found. Oh, and you have to pay for parking. 15$ to "self park" your car to stay there. Maybe it is just on the outs as a luxury place, Or, they gave me a room that they put all people with kids in. Just a horrible room with bad plumbing and bad beds. Oh, the beds have a leather like comforter. A thin dirty leather comforter. So bummed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Great cozy spot close to downtown Taos

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we needed anything the staff was prompt in responding to our needs.
Cons: The only thing I would improve is more spa perks for guests. Would be nice if one spa service could be offered at 30% off instead of 15%.
Location: Very close to downtown, probably takes only 10 minutes to walk. We drove because of our puppy but it was very close to shops, restaurant, breweries.
Great place for vacationing with pets. I was pleasantly surprised as to the cleanliness of the hotel, considering they allow pets. Our little puppy was free to roam in the gated front of our Casita making his stay more fun and safe! My boyfriend and I enjoyed the quite space as well as the beautiful surroundings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

nice resort close to the arts district

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I was not expecting the resort to be this nice. The grounds were beautifully maintained, our room was spacious and overlooked the landscaped gardens. The staff was well informed and helpful. Also, a shout out to the valet parkers......they were great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

From the Greeting to the Goodby

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The beauty of the physical plant and the standard of care they offer the guests.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: The grounds and the setting of the hotel are beautiful.
This hotel and the staff is phenomenial in the reception to the final goodby. Courteous, considerate and the facility is lovely, spacious and clean. We had a great time and they surely helped us to fall-in-love with Taos.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Cons: Restaurant service
Very nice facility, night we ate at the restaurant the service was a bit haphazard .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Highly recommend. Beautiful and peaceful. Stuff was phenomenal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Never would have guessed.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The overall appearance. The beautiful room and pool area. Food was also excellent as well as the service.
Cons: Not much for us.
Location: We enjoyed the shops and restaurants in town and especially that it was so pet friendly.
Driving into Taos from Arizona we were kind of let down from all the great reviews we had read on the town and hotels etc. When we found the EL Monte Sagrado and entered the grounds we were so happy. Everything was beautiful, well maintained and decorated. We never would have guessed we would have such luxury at this affordable Resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Very nice room and service although only a 1 night stay en route to Colorado
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Beautiful hotel, staff really friendly and go out of their way to take care of you!