Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful and relaxing!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The staff is awesome, can't remember a better experience. I would recommend this place to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Lovely Resort. Close to Town. Outstanding Spa.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Super friendly staff and nice clean rooms made for a stress free stay. The location is great, being close to town and the mountains.
Cons: I felt if they just focused on that last 5%, they'd have it. Detail oriented people know exactly what I mean. Sorry, no room to expand. Still 5 stars.
Location: Carson National Forrest is not far and historic downtown Taos is also near and bustling. Not hard to find something to do there. Love Taos.
El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa is a lovely resort walking distance to historic downtown Taos. It spreads out on a fairly large campus with a stunning mountain view and nice lawns. I had one of the Taos Mountain rooms and it was just the thing for me. I am a large fellow, so the very large soaking tub was fantastic. Despite what it says on the website, my tub was not jetted. The Living Spa was fantastic. On Friday, I got a Deep Tissue massage from Jessie that was luxurious. She was just wonderful and hit all of my trouble spots. When she was finished, she thought I could benefit from a Thai massage, so I did that on Saturday with Rebecca. Saturday, Thai massage. OMG this blew my mind. I'd looked Thai massage up on the internet, but none of it prepared me for the 'performance' that Rebecca did and when she was finished, I had increased mobility of 50-60%! No exaggeration. She was so, so mindful and the whole experience just felt interpretive, for lack of a better word. When I go back to El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa, it will be to schedule time with Rebecca. I wonder if I could handle two of those sessions... And then Sunday, Reflexology with Nancy. Nancy was fantastic. She was deft and sure and what surprised me was, there was no pain. Not only that, but the problem areas I had were feeling good the next day too. Thanks Nancy! I would also like to shout out to Dina in the restaurant. It was a pleasure to be at her table. Menu is outstanding. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Lovely resort, close to town, outstanding spa

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Super friendly staff and nice clean rooms made for a stress free stay. The location is great, being close to town and the mountains.
Cons: I did feel that they needed to focus on that last 5%. Anyone who is detail oriented like me knows exactly what I mean. No room to expand my thought.
Location: Carson National Forrest is not far and historic downtown Taos is also near and bustling. Not hard to find something to do there.
El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa is a lovely resort walking distance to historic downtown Taos. It spreads out on a fairly large campus with a stunning mountain view and nice lawns. I had one of the Taos Mountain rooms and it was just the thing for me. I am a large fellow, so the very large soaking tub was fantastic. Despite what it says on the website, my tub was not jetted. The Living Spa was fantastic. On Friday, I got a Deep Tissue massage from Jessie that was luxurious. She was just wonderful and hit all of my trouble spots. When she was finished, she thought I could benefit from a Thai massage, so I did that on Saturday with Rebecca. Saturday, Thai massage. OMG this blew my mind. I have looked Thai massage up on the internet, but none of it prepared me for the 'performance' that Rebecca did and when she was finished, I had increased mobility of 50-60%! No exaggeration. She was so, so mindful and the whole experience felt interpretive, for lack of a better word. When I go back to El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa, it will be to schedule time with Rebecca. I wonder if I could handle two of those sessions... And then Sunday, Reflexology with Nancy. Nancy was fantastic. She was deft and sure and what surprised me was, there was no pain. Not only that, but the problem areas I had were feeling good the next day too. Thanks Nancy! I would also like to shout out to Dina in the restaurant. It was a pleasure to be at her table. Menu is outstanding. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Outstanding Stay!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Get a new Maitre d ...It was a white hair gentleman who was rude and condescending on /31/17. He was a major blemish on an otherwise perfect stay.
Location: Very Peaceful and within walking distance of everything.
Beautiful grounds...Really great room, Very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins CO

long weekend away

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: grounds and design of the buildings. well kept and unique.
Cons: compared to a traditional hotel, it could be a little confusing entering and finding the check in room. better signage needed.
Location: great location near historic district. lots of galleries and stores.
we were very pleased with El Monte Sagrado. arrived early, no problems, room was ready and staff were very proactively willing to help. used valet but you dont really need it, parking is so close. the grounds and buildings are beautiful, and very well kept. staff were great, willing to help and asking all the time if we needed anything. we would definitely stay here again. the hotel definitely made our trip. we really enjoyed the Anaconda Bar -- great apps, friendly bartenders - spent two nights there finishing off great days in the Taos and Santa Fe region shopping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento,Ca

Trouble in Taos

Posted Mar 25, 2017
It started at reservations where we were told that Expedia always messes up on the rooms. We requested a King but we given a room with two queens. After about an hour of discussion we were moved to a suite it was nice but crowded with furniture. Dinner was nice but expensive. After dinner we returned to the room to watch TV and relax but the Cable was out so we went to sleep. Then were woken by the fire Alarm at 6 Am. They claim it was because if the storm but We've stayed in worse storms and the amenities worked fine. The front desk was apologetic but didn't offer any discounts of compensation for the discomfort we experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Best hotel in Taos!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The bathrooms were setup perfectly for a family traveling, and the rooms were spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 kids.
After originally booking in another hotel in town, only to find it to be a dump, we were able to switch our reservation to El Monde Sagrado, and it worked out beautifully. The property, rooms, and facilities were fantastic. The staff was gracious and helpful. We can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice resort, helpful staff, a bit far from Skiing

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Very nice grounds and large rooms. Fireplace was nice and heated floors kept it very cozy as well. Food was good, drinks were good. Staff was helpful
Cons: Recommend softer and higher end (high thread count) bedding for a hotel of this caliber. Parking around back-side of hotel recommended, very long walk
Location: In town, so walking distance to art galleries & town square. Restaurants within 5 mile radius. A bit far from the ski resort area, took us about 30min
My family and I enjoyed our stay during Spring Break 2017. We arrived on a Monday and left on a Friday. We got the global suite and stayed in Japan, very nice room and spacious and nice backyard area for our yellow lab. The location was in the back of the resort, so we had a very long walk with a ton of bags. Grounds were very nice, walking paths were nice, breakfast was great. The spa was very nice as well. The hotel facilities would be a 5 if the location if there was better parking near the back of the hotel where our room was. I highly recommend this resort. Not a huge fan of the daily 50 fee for the pet, would have much rather liked a one time fee then daily fee, as this added up quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver colorado

Nice get a way to Taos

Posted Mar 5, 2017
My husband and I decided to take a last minute get a way to Taos and we saw this hotel and spa online. The hotel was beautiful and located in a very tranquil environment. It was also close to the plaza and restaurants which made it convenient. We enjoyed a couples massage which was in a very romantic room with kiva.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Hidden Gem

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The uniqueness of the room, the pool and hot tub area.
Cons: The room had brick floors and no rugs - pretty cold in the morning. The was a big gap at the door that cold air was pouring through.
Location: Taos has many museums and galleries to check out.
We've stayed there four times - each time in a different type of room - each is unique. When we checked in, Zoe was amazing - she walked us to our casita and made sure we knew where everything was and how it all worked. Unfortunately the restaurant, De La Tierra, was not so amazing. I never got a water refill, never asked if we wanted another drink, the food was slow to come, and the bison burger was overcooked and tough. Highly recommend the hotel - stay away from the restaurant. Checking out, the woman was not helpful - didn't ask about our stay - just wanted to know if the bill was satisfactory - the $55 resort fees and taxes are hard to swallow on a $215 room fee. Definitely will go back, just haved learned lessons for next time.