Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Great location and great rooms

Posted Nov 4, 2017
We loved the size of the room and the beautiful mountain view from our balcony. The room had a king size bed plus plenty of space for the sofa, coffee table and chair. Sitting on our own private balcony in the evening just made it all that much nicer. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
What a wonderful weekend experience! The staff was very considerate of our needs and were very friendly and helpful in every instance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great choice

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Dark and dated rooms Not well maintained Old ski resort type place Restaurant and interior or main building dark at night to the point you need flashlight to eat Local transportation nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Collingwood, ON

50th Bday Let Down

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel and grounds
Cons: DINING SERVICE, VALET SERVICE, HOUSEKEEPING,
We where so excited to come to this beautiful resort for a 50th bday celebration. We where so impressed when we arrived that we booked an additional nite when we checked in! When we arrived at the beautiful dining room that evening we waited for over 10 minutes to be seated. When we inquired, we where told that it was VERY BUSY and someone would get to us shortly. Dinner service was extremely slow, and one dinner was delivered to the table stone cold. We couldn't find anyone to clear the dinner dishes and waiting for the bill was a 15 minute wait. The next day we had booked massages, however, when we arrived we where told that 1 of the massages would have to be cancelled as they did not have enough staff to accommodate us. When we came back to our room, there had been no maid service - and no one could tell us why / or send someone at that time. All of this was communicated to the hotel staff who did nothing to rectify the situations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful surroundings!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Beautiful scenery on lots of acreage. Close to the Plaza and other attractions. The rooms were fine. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food in the restaurant was good. Service in the restaurant was lacking, at times seemed disorganized. Our room never got cleaned two out of the four days. I would stay again, however. Other reviews indicate the two issues mentioned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice but falls short

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to downtown, and my wife loved the SPA.
Cons: They could do a better job of cleaning the rooms. Our room looked tired and in need of some maintenance.
Location: We shopped the town square, eat dinner at Lambert's which was great, and breakfast at Michael's Kitchen (always eat there when in Taos) twice.
Overall we had a nice stay in Taos and the hotel grounds and location are very nice. There were a few things that fell short for a hotel at this price point. We booked a casita which was at a good price point. The casitas are roomy but I found ours, the New Mexico casita to be a little dirty. Just a few detail were some cobwebs on the beams and black guck around some of the tub fixture plates. I wouldn't expect that from any 3 start or above hotel. I personally don't like to valet park. The hotel offers valet parking as part of the "resort fee" which is fine, however I would have preferred to self park but was always stopped and made to valet park with the explanation that they had no self parking spaces available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Beautiful location. Staff was excellent. Grounds were in excellent condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Very nice room with Great Value

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Amenities, price. location, first rate knowledgeable staff.
Cons: fresh flowers in the room and a water pitcher
Location: near the very heart of the Taos artists galleries area
Easy Peasy check-in > Rooms are first rate, the spa's grounds are a beautiful park, and amenities are perfectly maintained. I will stay no where else when i visit the Taos area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Attentive staff, dining, pool, spa, cleanliness--all were superb.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Town of Taos, shops, restaurants, plaza, and the SKI AREA!
El Monte Sagrado provided the best amenities for our anniversary. It's also convenient for visiting the scenes around Taos. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taos oasis

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Best hotel in NM. Don't miss this one on your bucket list, you'll return again and again. Great staff, beautiful environment and everything to go with it. Don't miss the spa