Ratings based on 1,464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls MN

Kitschy pleasant hotel near the old town square.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Staff very accommodating, quirky decorating in pueblo style. Excellent hot SW style breakfast. Nice pool and hot tub.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great place to stay in Taos

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's about a half mile North of downtown Taos. About 10 minutes from Taos Pueblo, and The Millicent Rogers Museum. 15 minutes from the Rio Grand Gorge
The hotel is far from new, but has been very well maintained. The facilities and spacious grounds are very nice. If we return to Taos, we will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CO

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable but not plush. Not that I was expecting a plush bed but just making mention. Property was quiet but the balconies were shared and not private which made me feel uncomfortable leaving the window open even on the second level. Overall though an enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Grounds and buildings are run down and need maintenance. Breakfast buffet and afternoon homemade cookies were good. Bed was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for pointing out what you liked and disliked during your stay.. This helps us to look for ways to improve. We work hard to keep up on maintenance, some of our buildings date back to early 1930's, I am surprised you found our grounds to be " run down" as our lawn is plush and green and tended to daily by several grounds keepers. Sorry our beautiful green spaces, with shade , trees, picnic tables, lawn games and bbq's did not meet your expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Classic Motor Court Updated for 21st Century

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Classic motor court updated for 21st century.
Cons: Faster wi-fi; real towels (not large dish cloths good for ex-foliation but not post-shower drying and lounging.
Location: Walking distance to Taos Plaza and Taos Brew House!
Traveling all over the Southwest--Southern Colorado, Northern Arizona, Southern Utah, Southern Arizona, West Texas, Southern New Mexico, Northern New Mexico. Have seen dozens of pre-Interstate motor courts along US and State Highways in various states: derelict, run down but still open, open, and restored. El Pueblo is in the last category--well-maintained, many updates, great breakfast for guests--in no way scary, gross, or cheap.ur
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Motel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This place has great old bones but is in pristine condition. The bed was soooo comfy. The staff was professional. And the complimentary breakfast was a great mix of standard fare mixed with regional delicacies.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mission viejo, ca

a true surprise

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: basically everything. Landscaping, art, cleanliness.
Location: walk to old town plaza. Great food and entertainment in area. easy drive to the Gorge and Pueblo.
wonderful renovation of a 50's roadside motel. Grounds with facilities are immaculate. Rooms large and comfortable. excellent breakfast buffet. Even a bar-b-que with covered table for a family cookout dinner. family games (horse shoes, etc)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review ! We work hard to make our guests happy !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family and pet friendly

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The yard, the comfortable friendliness, the breakfasts, the afternoon cookies, the willingness of the sometimes incompetent staff to try to help.
Cons: Better trained front desk staff.
Location: Taos is a great high and dry, mostly cool place. Our favorite outing was the Antonito to Chama narrow gauge train ride. A real winner.
This is a very comfortable place to stay. It's not elegant, but it's way beyond adequate. The ambiance is very nice, and the accommodations are adequate. We will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the pros and cons. Apologies that some staff at the front desk did not meet your standards. I will share your thoughts with them and we will work hard to improve in this area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sparks, nev

nice Taos chic

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: convenient, clean, comfy. great breakfast
Cons: decaf at breakfast? (I must have missed it somewhere)
Location: It's Taos! Spend a day at the Pueblo (a World Heritage site), go shopping at the Plaza or anywhere, anything outdoors.
Good location, very well kept Taos/pueblo/Mexican motif motel. Comfy room. The breakfast was incredible--selection of hot foods, fresh cut fruit, yogurt, breads. Must have missed the decaf, tho, so made some in the room. Wi-Fi was a little spotty, but usable. Beds comfy. Motel is pet friendly--and we're not dog people--so appreciated that the staff quickly located the owners of the 2 yelpers next door who awakened us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review ! We are happy you enjoyed your stay ! PS, yes ! decaf at breakfast ! just ask our wonderful hostess and she will make you a fresh pot !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Within walking distance to plaza. Nice pool area. Friendly check in. Average breakfast.