Ratings based on 1,571 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Dec 6, 2017
There were a lot of positives about this place: the staff was friendly; the breakfast had a lot of good options; the free chips and salsa in the evenings were a fun bonus!; the room was relatively spacious; and the location was pretty central. But we were grossed out by how filthy the carpeting was. Neither one of us wanted to walk on it with bare feet. It probably needed to be replaced, like, 15 years ago? It seems like a little thing, but it certainly affected our level of comfort in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at the El Pueblo ! Im glad your found so many positives. My sincere apologizes however that we fell far below your standards ( and ours !) regarding the carpet ! All of the rooms have had the flooring replaced, either with carpet or laminate as recently as this last year, however we get so much traffic in our rooms we will be doing another flooring evaluation because of your feedback, so thank you ! ( if you could let me know which room you were in, we can address that one right away ! Thanks again for the review good and not so good, as this always helps us to improve !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

lovely locally-owned lodge

Posted Dec 5, 2017
super cozy rooms and probably the best continental breakfast i’ve ever had!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stay !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa fe nm

Great location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Walkable to the downtown plaza. The staff is excellent,breakfast very good. Remember Taos is a very old historic town and hotel is old. Very good for a 2 star rating. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. Enjoy the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the El Pueblo Lodge ! We work hard to make our guests happy !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crescent City, Ca

First rate stay.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: professional, kind and competent staff
Cons: need more than just one chair in room and better placemernt of over-bed light switch
we got far more than expected in both comfort and cleanliness
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the shout out to our great staff and Im happy to hear you were comfortable during your stay. I appreciate the feedback regarding the furniture and lighting, as we forward to the owners what our guests think would make us that much better ! Thanks again and Merry Christmas !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice motel close the Taos Pueblos

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast
The motel is well placed just out of the small but busy old town and on the way to Taos Pueblos. The motel is old and I guess has been around for a while but there arnt really too many better options around. The room itself was nice and clean with plenty of space. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. One night here for me was plenty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Close to town

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Mid century Pueblo style
Location: The plaza has many stores and restaurants. The area around the plaza has wonderful boutiques and gallweries. Don’t miss the Kit Carson museum.
We had a wonderful stay. Breakfast is amazing. The staff is kind, happy, and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 out of 5 ! we really appreciate you sharing your experience ! See you next time !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE TEXAS

Nice lodge with fireplace

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Very clean, cute and location was easy to find. Offered breakfast the next morning. Friendly staff. Would recommend. Have a couple of grills outside in courtyard area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the high marks ! We hope to see you back again soon !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

5 Star Service at 2 Star Prices!

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Outstanding staff, comfortable room at a good price, great location
Location: Taos Plaza - quick walk, Taos Pueblo - short drive and a must see, Rio Grande River Gorge Bridge is a few miles away - look for Bighorn sheep
We stayed in an original casita, which was delightful. There was a minor issue with heat not working as it was one of the season's first cold nights. Staff immediately moved us to adjacent casita where everything worked fine. Wood and matches were provided for fireplace - comfy bed and quiet location. Delicious bkfst buffet incl. meats, potatoes, eggs, fruit, biscuits, pastries and much more. Staff insisted we take fruit and granola bars for our hike later in the day. El Pueblo is a short walk to Taos Plaza and a couple minutes drive to Taos Pueblo - great location. Every staff member we encountered was cheerful and helpful incl. front desk, breakfast staff and even a maintenance worker who rushed to hold open a door for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you the 5 out of 5 and the outstanding review We really appreciate it ! Im glad to hear you had such a great stay ! Hope to see you back again soon ! ( great shot of the big horn sheep, you are so lucky to have seen them !)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, CO

The perfect amount of charm and local flavor

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Rooms are clean and comfortable. There are nice southwestern touches and the rooms are spacious. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Kim General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review, we sure appreciate it! See you soon !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Homey, friendly and easy walk to downtown

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Cons: WIFI
This was my second time at El Pueblo Lodge and would definitely stay there again the next time in Taos. Three of us stayed in one room which was a little tight, but not uncomfortable as there are chairs just outside the room to sit in and look at the stairs, as well as the pool and hot tub. Staff is very friendly and attentive to all guests. Breakfast is fresh with something for everyone. Only complaint is the wifi - kind of weak and spotty