Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, Pennsylvania

Authentically New Mexico

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Loved the historic mid-century interpretation of authentically New Mexico architecture and decor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Taos architectural style.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: It has an interesting facade.
Cons: This motel needs updated. The owner's need to spend some money on this property.
Location: Lots of restaurants and things to do nearby and in Taos.
Roof leaked on bed the third night after it rained. Moved to another room. Key cards to second room never worked after the first use. Never had wi-fi in room anytime during our stay. The lobby did have wi-fi. Web site info and real life practices do not match. There was a thermostat in the room does not appear to actually work. We turned ours down to the the lowest setting and the temperature in the room in the middle of the night and for the majority of the night was 82 degrees in both rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abq, NM

A go to for short stays!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
This is our "go to" hotel for short snowboarding trips to Taos. The rooms have the basic necessities we need: bed, heat, microwave, toilette, and tv. Not recommended if you you are looking for high class decor, toiletries, and amenities. The only thing that kept me from giving this hotel an "excellent" rating is there is No coffee pot in the room and they changed from offering a complimentary breakfast to only a 50% discount.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Centrally located

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The coffee shop.
Cons: Attention to maintenance of lights and ice.
Location: Walking distance to Plaza and shopping.
Assigned 2 rooms, neither was cleaned or ready. 3rd room had no outside light - pitch black. Icy and no salt/sand. We asked for lights (got it) and sand. Got dirt. No amenities - frig or microwave or in room coffee. Maid never came even when we put the sign out. We emptied our own trash after 2 days. Rug was gross. Base of toilet had urine from previous guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

$79 per night

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Stayed during snow storm to do some skiing. Wifi is only good close to lobby area. You park right in front of your room, no stairs to climb. Excellent diner for breakfast and lunch. Motel has a long family history. Staff was very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get less than you pay for.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: the breakfast coupon they give you. and the pancakes.
Cons: The staff and heating.
The heating system didnt work even though I had it full blast for over 12 hours. Room never got above 70 so I woke up with a soar throat from breathing cold air all night while I slept with a sweater and beanie. When I told the front desk while checking out, all they said was "we'll tell maintenance." Thanks for the concern Kachina.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Inhospitable Staff and Environment.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Staff, rude and unfriendly. Provided incorrect information about reservation. Room was cold due to heater not working well. Cancelled second night. Would have loved to stay due to location being close to Plaza. Overall, not a welcoming lodge experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Located right down town next to a burger and brewery.
This was a huge place with very few quests. Room was clean but there was a large bag of trash just outside the door of my room which I moved. Enjoyed the hot tub even though it was way too hot and there was no way to turn the temperature down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Dean Koop, General Partner, Hotel Management
To Michele on Expedia: Thank you for the comments.We're glad you enjoyed our hot tub and the Ale House next door. We are monitoring the hot tub closer. Thanks Again! Dean Koop, General Partner
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The room charges were different from what Expedia website promised. Friendly stuff convinced me into upgrading from queen size into king bed which was unnecessary, in my opinion. Bipolar shower kept switching from cold to warm to make sure I was awake
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by W. Dean Koop, General Manager, Hotel Management
To Natalia on Expedia: Thank you. I instructed our friendly staff to provide upgrades to fill room types available at no additional cost. I apologize. W. Dean Koop, Managing Partner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel that could be a little cleaner

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Overall a nice, unique motel that has a unique character to it. Flat screen TV, really nice Hot tub, and lots of nice character. Downsides were our sheets were not the cleanest, bags of trash in the hallway, and one of building you could clearly tell was being used as storage, none of which bothered me much. The on site cafe (which you get a coupon for 50% and no breakfast is provided) was subpar with very uncreative menu, poor service, and an OK price (highly recommend going somewhere else).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by W. Dean Koop, General Manager, Hotel Management
To Dustyn on Expedia: Thanks for your visit. We apologize about the bedding and the trash bag in the hallway. Our staff has been told and alerted to avoid any continuance of this. Also, the food services has been exceptional; but we told the involved staff of your experience and instructed them to correct it. Please come again to note our improvements. Thanks again. W. Dean Koop, Managing Partner