Ratings based on 1,448 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Location close to town square

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Stayed several times this year. If u book through a third party u get the worst rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, NM

Do not stay here

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Would not give me ground floor. Smoking permeated air which is against law in NM Room door would not work to open so they moved me to ground floor. Room incomplete - no glasses or cups, no towels. Restaurant staff not trained to use espresso machine, out of red chili and jam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best older hotels!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
This is an older hotel, but has a lot of charm. The location is great-- we walked to the Plaza. I loved the outdoor pool-- very peaceful and perfect temperature. The rooms are very roomy and the beds were comfortable, I slept great both nights. We were hoping to see the Indian dancers or the live entertainment, but missed out on those.... not sure if it was scheduling problems or what. Overall a very good stay at a good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Dean , Hotel Management
To Sharon, We’re glad you enjoyed your stay; and thanks for taking your time to comment. The Indian Dancers are now more responsive to our schedule. Thanks Again. W. Dean Koop, G.M. & Owner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

We enjoy being so close to the main attractions.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Enjoyed the breakfast.
Cons: Replacing carpet.
Location: Fantastic.
Our stay at the Kachina Lodge was pleasant and convenient. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enid, OK

Weekend stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Older hotel in need of a few "professional" upgrades. A few repairs & building maintenance items were apparently made by well meaning but not so capable in house handymen. Friendly and attentive staff. Had an issue with the first room we were assigned and the staff at the front desk promptly resolved the problem to our complete satisfaction. We will stay here again because the location is great, however, we sure hope some relatively minor, but much needed, building improvements can be made in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Good location for where we had to be.....

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff was great....room however was not. Ants in the old ugly bathroom, we bought bug spray rather than ask for another room, didn't notice the ants after we had already unpacked. Missing light bulb in one of the lamps.......WiFi was nearly nonexistent.... Asked for clean towels the second day, we had to go to front desk & get them since they never brought them. No screen in the bathroom window. Air conditioner cooled good but made a racket. So, no! Really Expedia?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs some attention

Posted Jul 10, 2017
No soap or other amenities in the room, blood stain on the pillow case, room was run down, couch had no legs on it. The only person on the property was undertrained and not responsive to our request for soap, shampoo and new pillow case. Promised after asking twice to attend to our request, but never showed up. we checked out the next morning, and the front desk did not even care to hear our concerns.....we were scheduled for 2 nights!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Better choices found elsewhere in the area.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Convenient location in Taos
Cons: Different cleaning staff, better insulation in ceiling and walls.
Location: Good central location, close to shopping and food.
Cleaning staff may have been in a hurry and missed most of my room. Left over food containers, dirty sink and toilet. Stepped into wet spot on carpet when heading to bed. Not a great place to sleep. Not impressed with
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque,NM

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms definitely needed updating and coulded have been cleaner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for?

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Okay, so we got this room at a VERY discounted price. The place was outdated, but charming. The biggest issue I had was that there was a big stain on the bed cover, making my husband and I wonder if it had been washed. Hence, sleeping in the bed was uncomfortable. Furthermore, there was a note left on the bed (by the maid?) which said something to the effect "we understand that often our guests forget essential items from home. If that is the case with you, please come ask at the front desk." Well, I had forgot toothpaste, and went to the front desk to see if I can purchase some. I was told, "we don't have anything like that here." What was the point of the note then? Other than that, it was walking distance to shopping and eating. I purchased toothpaste at the convenient store the next block over. There was Native American dancing at the hotel in the evening. I'd do it again. For the VERY discounted price.