Ratings based on 1,282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Bring your cleaning supplies

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The pool was heavenly and very well cared for
Cons: Cleanliness of room and hotel night desk staff.
Location: Great location
The room was very large, but not well kept. Bathroom was filthy and dirty sheets left on the bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Texas

GREAT VALUE

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: PRICE.On the main drag. Shops in walking distance, Rooms clean. grounds clean. offered a demo pow wow. they got everyone up to dance .Was Great
Cons: Nothing
Location: Martyrs Steak house was nice. Have the prime rib on Fridays!
Although the Inn is older it was very clean. Grounds were very clean and the staff was on top of everything. I will stay there again. There is a "Breakfast" at the hotel and other shops in walking distance. It was a spur of the moment trip and we got this room online. It was just what we needed. I would recommend this facility. Its huge, lots of rooms... 2 story. it took up quite a bit of real estate! be sure to wear comfy shoes!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old motel from years past

Posted Aug 15, 2016
A place to sleep but overpriced for its condition. Rooms should not be over $60
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Only problem was that the room did not have a refrigerator. Cafe was excellent for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: close proximity to town
Cafe and laundry onsite, internet available. Old historic lodging with plenty of grounds for walking. Variety of establishment close by lodging.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Old property

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This hotel needs new management and to be renovated. The hall carpets were not vacuumed. There were stains on carpet in my room, furniture needed dusting, Internet was not working, bath tub had scumb around the drain, dust on window seals and lamps. Their computer system was not working during check-in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Stay

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Close to Taos downtown.
Cons: Wifi.
The facility is in a nice location, close to restaurants and next door to the Taos Tap Room. However their wifi was not working and my non-smoking room had a smoky scent,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Continuing a slow downhill slide.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Facilities are ok, night front desk person claimed no rooms available for a room switch (fighting couple next door), found out the next morning from the day front desk person that there actually were other rooms available. Many parking spots in the parking areas were empty as of 1 am on a Saturday morning. I also stayed there last year and saw the same thing. One of the buildings has been closed for remodeling for over a year. I didn't count those empty parking spots. Staff seemed a little testy when asked about it. The hotel seems to still be struggling. Normally an OK stay for one night when traveling. Not as clean or well kept as when Best Western owned it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stillwater, OK

Oldie but goodie.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The free (unless you wanted to donate something) entertainment provided by local Taos Pueblo Indian dancers and musicians.
Cons: Some cleaning up of the grounds (weeding, etc.) and a little paint would help outside.
Location: Excellent location!! It is within walking distance of the downtown town plaza and several excellent restaurants.
The staff was informative and check-in was quick. It is an older hotel, but it has been renovated and was clean. The room was fine. The rather extensive grounds could use some TLC and renovation. You can tell that this was a top-notch expensive hotel/conference center when it was new. It has good bones.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio Rancho, NM

Nice, historical motel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, quaint, historical. Very nice staff. The pool was amazing. And, while we were there, they had Taos Indian dancers in the evening.
Location: There is a nice little place to eat right next door. They have really good food!!!
I was very pleasantly surprised with this lodge. It was decorated beautifully, the beds were Very comfortable and the staff was exceptional. There wasn't enough room in the box below to write my comments about the attached restaurant. They aren't part of the Kachina Lodge, except that they are attached buildings, and the Lodge gives a 50% coupon for breakfast. The service was horrid. I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone. the food wasn't even very good. It is Amazing for the Lodge to give the 50% coupon, but unless you have LOTS of time, want "so-so" coffee, and not very good food, go ahead and use the coupon. Otherwise, find somewhere else for breakfast.