Ratings based on 1,606 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The elegance
Cons: bathtubs need better grip strips, very slippery
Location: Only about 5 minutes from the main shopping in taos
Very nice stay, full breakfast every morning very good. Live entertainment fri & sat.,and dancing. Pool was enjoyable & clean. I only asked that they take care of the tub in my room it was very slippery. Otherwise a great place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by sge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope you will come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Sagebrush Inn - My favorite Taos Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: What I liked the most about the hotel is its Southwestern look. You can really feel like you are in Old Mexico.
Location: About two miles south of the Plaza. A very safe location and many Southwestern restaurants close by.
The Sagebrush Inn is a real Southwestern experience. The hotel is beautiful. It has a lot of nice artwork and classic furniture that matches the Taos theme. But that's not it! The hotel staff is warm and friendly. The dinner and breakfast is outstanding. I hope you will enjoy the Sagebrush Inn and much as I did. Doug Ward Doug Ward Photography, LLC
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope you will come back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beware of Bed Bugs!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Cons: Get rid of the bed bugs!
The room, which was much, much more run down than in the pictures on the hotel website, had bed bugs. Our inspection of the mattresses of the two queen beds instantly revealed a heavy infestation. The only good thing was that the hotel cooperated with Expedia in canceling our reservation entirely, since we didn't want to stay in a different room in a bed-bug infested establishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to make sure this does not happen again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A ten for the price. Wifi and why the smell ?

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Wifi only worked if I went to the lobby and got it going. When I took a shower, it smelled strongly of human feces. Rather disgusting. I think it was in the tile and apparently new grouting they had done. The shower curtain was not the cause. I bought Lysol spray and sprayed but it persisted. The food in the restaurant was terrific. But the service was perhaps the worst I had ever experienced. One day, I asked the hostess to get me some tacos. She did. Then I went into the bar to get a beer and bring it back to the table. So I never had a waiter. He did come by twice and ask if I was OK. I tipped him well anyway. Breakfast was great. Staff were very nice but service in the restaurant was slow, as I mentioned. I was very pleased to get a double upgrade. For the price I give the hotel a ten.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize about the issues you experienced in the room. We are doing our best to have this resolved. We do hope you will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed our stay there.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel itself is lovely, quiet with very large rooms. The breakfast is hot food, the selection substantial.
Location: It is a little far from the town center and shopping, but they did provide (upon asking) a city map on which they showed the free parking.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is an lovely, older, historical Spanish style building with beautifully maintained grassy courtyard (safe for kids to play in) and large well-appointed rooms, a substantial hot breakfast bar (included).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel located in south Taos.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location for my particular needs, price and ease of access.
Cons: Updating needed in older rooms. Furniture and doors badly scratched, etc. Breakfast should be served warm and staff should act like they care.
Good buy for the money. Staff was cooperative. Breakfast was cold and staff not friendly. Otherwise, a good hotel to stay in Taos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by sge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the experience you had in our breakfast room. We are working hard to make sure this doesn't happen again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Dirty grounds. Facility is old and worn out. Needs maintenance badly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We hope you will come back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is a nice hotel for the price. It is older, and could use some upgrades, but it was comfortable and clean. The staff was nice. Good breakfast, and convenient restaurant area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by sge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Quintessential Southwestern feel!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Not enough good things to say about this hotel! The rooms were spacious and comfortable, with a patio in the back with beautiful mountain views! Great continental breakfast and friendly staff. Would go back in a second if I find myself in Taos!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sf, CA

Reservation Cancelled

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Has gone downhill in recent years. Nothing more to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate the feedback. We are doing some minor upgrades to the hotel and doing our best to keep our historic look. We hope you will come back soon.