Ratings based on 1,228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Nice comfortable hotel but a little dated and far from the plaza / not walking distance, overall very nice place and super comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by sage, Hotel Management
Hello Taos Traveler! Thanks for the very nice words you shared for our future guests. I am so happy when people recognize us for what we are and have been for 85 years...an iconic, traditionally built old Inn with charm, personality and a warm fire. Nothing makes us more excited than when our guests enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again on your next stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tijeras nm

Very Peacefull

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: quite we did not hear the people in the room next door. big bonus for that.
The room was nice a clean. pretty quite and the yard was it excellent shape. nice green grass in the court yard. far enough away from the towns traffic. breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us here at Sagebrush Inn, we appreciate your positive remarks of our establishment. We hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sage is Superb!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Location: Taos Pueblo is a short drive and a must see. Prices for native art is high. Guided tour was informative but could use more historical facts.
From the inviting exterior design and welcoming staff to the excellent "All American" breakfasts and dinners, Sage Brush was a welcome and surprising accommodation. Check in was fast, and the room was so "Santa Fe" with a kiva (and firewood delivered by staff), nicely decorated furniture, quiet complex with a green grass courtyard, comfortable bed with fine cotton sheets, and great restaurant staffed by polite staff persons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by sage, Hotel Management
Hello Taos Traveler! Thanks for the very nice words you shared for our future guests. I am so happy when people recognize us for what we are and have been for 85 years...an iconic, traditionally built old Inn with charm, personality and a warm fire. Nothing makes us more excited than when our guests enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again on your next stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Charm and comfort in Taos

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: relaxing atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, all the basics are covered and the grounds are lovely
Cons: the outer decks in the older area could use some renovation before too long; everything is safe, but showing some wear in spots
Location: Taos--visit pueblo and shops; town has much charm
An older hotel, the charm of this place is in the atmosphere, grounds, and staff. While comfortable, the room I stayed in was older and the deck is showing some wear. However, it was clean and pleasant, quiet, with all the basics. 3 hot tubs, good restaurant, bar, band, service, breakfast. It has the Taos "vibe." I was there for a 4 day workshop and would happily return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by sage, Hotel Management
Dear Taos Traveler, Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. That is why when we renovate we do so with a lot of thought and purpose. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Stayed in a largesuite with a King bed, pull down queen bed, kitchen, and two full bathrooms. Very comfortable for two couples. Room was simple yet clean and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Bri, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Sagebrush Inn and Suites for your stay. We appreciate the feedback and hope to have you again soon. Have a great weekend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel with authentic feel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back! This hotel had a lot of character and authenticity allowing us to experience more of the culture of the area. It also provided more of a community feeling with the other guests. The courtyard was beautiful both day and night. Breakfast was great and staff were all super friendly. Overall we had an awesome experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Bri, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed our Hotel! Thank you for your feedback, we work hard to give every guest a memorable and comfortable stay. Have a great weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arvada, CO

Hotel pass, Expedia fail.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The staff was very accommodating even though they had a hard time finding my reservation ( thank you Expedia ). Also, I have a 14 year old son. Expedia has a "child" age up to 17. The hotel considers a "child" only up to 12 years old. Because of that the price was incorrect. I think Expedia needs to be more aware of the hotels policies.
Comment from Hotel Management
by sagebrush@newmex.com, Hotel Management
Hello Taos Traveler! Thanks for the very nice words you shared for our future guests. I am so happy when people recognize us for what we are and have been for 85 years...an iconic, traditionally built old Inn with charm, personality and a warm fire. Nothing makes us more excited than when our guests enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again on your next stay.
4 out of 5
by DEOGRACIA from Elmwood Park

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
The lady at the desk told us check in was 4:00pm when in fact the confirmation I got from Hotels.com told me 3:00 pm. Wasted an hour waiting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Kristie, Hotel Management
Thank you for filling out the guest survey. It helps us so much when we need adjustment to our norm. We apologize for the confusion check in is at 4pm but thank you for letting us know that we need to fix it on that website. We hope to see you again on your next stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Don't waste your time! This place is a joke!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Town not at all as it says online....run down and poor.
We called to say we would be ahead of schedule and asked if they could accommodate an early check in. We were told maybe at 1pm. Arrived at 1...room not ready. Went out and about the town came back at 3...still no room. Came back at 4 (when check in starts) others were being told their rooms weren't ready either. Got checked in. Went to room. WRONG ROOM! The room I was given was not what I had reserved. Went back to office and was told it would be two hours before other room was ready. Was walked to what was suppose to be a vacant room to see size...someone's stuff was still in it! Wound up having to stay in a room which was not what we payed for! Such a disappointment! Would not recommend this place to anyone! Save yourself the aggravation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Sagebrush Inn & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved Inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again.
2 out of 5
by Ray from Littleton

Clean it up!

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
This motel is old and in need of an update. Rooms are run down and cannot be cleaned well in the condition they are in. The grounds are also dirty and run down. A shame, this could be a very cool place. The Breakfast was probably the best part of the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Kristie, Hotel Management
Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved Inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. That is why when we renovate we do so with a lot of thought and purpose. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again.