Ratings based on 1,625 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great staff, good breakfast, very dated rooms.

Posted Dec 14, 2017
These guys were super nice, the price was really good, and I really liked the breakfast buffet. The room was pretty dated though and the beds were uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Sagebrush Inn , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, CT

Located on main avenue Taos, NM

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Good location, attractive lounge in the main building, and complementary breakfast.
Cons: The associate detached building where we stayed needs a complete upgrade.
Location: Good location. Easy access to the restaurants and stores in Taos in addition to the tourist attractions nearby.
The main facility had beautiful architecture and likely was the source of the pictures in the hotels publicity. We were located in a building next store which I suspect at one time represented the competition, inasmuch as the architecture was different. This building was twenty years overdue for an upgrade. The wood paneling was scraped and worn. The carpets were thin and visually lifeless. There was a piece of sharp metal protruding from one of the arms of the sofa and the nylon curtain covering the walkout door was almost transparently thin and shredded in parts. The bathroom, which to be fair, was clean, but the timer switch, which is customarily connected to a heat lamp, was broken and connected to the light instead, in such a fashion that the bathroom light was on 24 hrs a day. I pointed this out to room service, but nothing was ever done about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to have this fixed. Thank you for letting us know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Dog friendly hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Rooms, breakfast, grounds
Cons: Some fixtures need a little TLC but nothing major.
Location: Great location near downtown.
Family of four with 2 dogs that thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sagebrush. The buffet breakfast was fantastic. Freshly grilled bacon, real eggs and fried potatoes plus all the others you'd expect (coffee, cereal, etc). The rooms are big and most seem to have fireplaces (free wood for first fire). We've stayed at a lot of hotels as we travel and this place was really a pleasant surprise for the price. The interior fixtures are a little dated, but seriously, compared to a Best Western, Holiday Inn, etc I'd take this place over the others. And for us the bonus was being able to bring our dogs. Would gladly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Taos Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our beloved inn. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from denver

large rooms

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: 2nd night the large rooms, coffee area, table and chairs. Lots of towels and beds nice.
Cons: Even thought the breakfast was free, it could be better. There was lots of pancakes but they had been there along time. Maybe more choices.
Location: 10 min to plaza.
first night old part of hotel; no heat in bathrooms floor heat in bathroom not working and pull down bed and other bed un-sleep-able my husband was up all night our old bones could not take the very old mattresses at least 25 years old. He is 73 Next night we asked to move to newer part of hotel and found it very enjoyable. Room very large and beds great. Would stay again in "new building" rooms in the 400's. We complained about beds and not sleeping but not sure anyone cared. My reservation was 2 queen beds not 2 rooms with bed in one room and pull down in other room. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to fix these problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grapevine, TX

I loved this place!

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Our stay was wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was great. Room had a killer view and was very comfortable. Can't wait to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Sagebrush Inn, Hotel Management
Well Thank You for staying with us. And excited you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the great view from your room. And we also hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel. Understaffed.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Price and breakfast.
Cons: More staffing.
Location: Lots of great history!
When we arrived, there was a back up of people waiting to be checked in. The clerk was very nice, but had difficulty finding our Expedia reservation. It all worked out. They have two hotel buildings, one is almost empty. Great breakfast in their restaurant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe nm

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Heater did not work !!had to moved to another room in the midde of the night ..the bartemder was rude !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced. We are working hard to fix the issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Spacious but needs work

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Pay attention to the details
Location: Located on the main highway and easy to find
The room was spacious, had plenty of plugins, and the beds were relatively comfortable. However, the air conditioner in our room did not work. The shower curtain was dirty. The florescent light above the sink flickered. If you have tender skin, you don't want to use the shower, because the shower head spray was so fine that it was piercing to the skin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our beloved in. We do apologize for any issues you had during your stay. We will work on these issues and have them fixed immediately. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Conifer, Co

Nice, authentic feeling Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and the breakfast
Cons: nothing I can think of at this time
Location: The hotel is about 3 miles from the Plaza
The hotel was nice and cozy. Our room seemed a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable. The hotel grounds were unique. It gave you the feeling of being in an old Spanish Fort. Check- in was fast and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was excellent. It was set up as a self serve, all- you-can eat breakfast bar, that included scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, french toast, green chili, and more. Next time in Taos, we would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Sagebrush Inn & suites , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us.We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It’s not a plastic box.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, decor, staff,
Location: Taos ski valley, museums, great restaurants.
This beautiful 1929 adobe motel is absolutely authentic for the time that it was built. The room was on a huge grassy courtyard. The hotel staff was extremely nice. and the breakfast was very good and ample The only way it failed to compare with much more expensive lodgings was that the bed could have been firmer. We love the place .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Sagebrush Inn & suites , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us.We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon!