Ratings based on 1,402 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Pictures didn't match reality

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The staff were very nice and friendly. The front desk staff was very attentive and helpful. The overall old adobe atmosphere was very charming.
Cons: Rooms just need to be updated a bit.
Location: Taos Plaza is a great place to shop.
The hotel is an older facility and that is actually part of it's charm. However, the pictures that I viewed gave me the impression that the rooms were a little more "newer" than reality. I don't know if there are some rooms that are newer and some that are not, but I have to say I was a little disappointed. I would suggest the hotel spruces up their older rooms a bit. They were really clean, but just dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis IN

On the way to Taos Ski Valley

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Room was unique with fireplace. Food at the restaurant was excellent. Bar and entertainment was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Classic

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Wonderful grounds for the Sagebrush. Could use even more renovation ( hard bed!), but a good value overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our property. We are currently doing some minor upgrades to the property. We hope to have you back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room was okay.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The location is good. The service from staff was great. But.. unfortunately the bed was uncomfortable. Needs a new mattress.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that our staff provided good service. We do apologize about the issues with the bed. We will do our best to get that resolved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Tx

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nice hotel, large rooms, excellent breakfast buffet. Definitely worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice reasonably priced hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and reasonable rates. The restaurant is close to the rooms and had great food and attentive waitstaff.
Cons: The bathroom needs a ventilation fan and a trash can. The wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling and showing signs of mildew.
Location: Within a couple miles of downtown Taos, which has shopping and galleries and a number of great cafes and eateries.
The staff was friendly and provided excellent service in both the hotel and the restaurant area. Room had a comfortable bed and nice arrangement of areas for a small suite. The restaurant was also reasonably priced with excellent food and service in a cozy atmosphere. This inn is showing some signs of wear and may need some upgrades, but overall was very clean and a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize about the issues with the bathroom in that room. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. That is why when we renovate we do so with a lot of thought and purpose. We hope you will come back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Traditional Southwest Experience

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed its traditional architecture, history and decor.
Cons: More towels in the hot tub and fitness areas.
If you're looking for southwest charm, this is your place. Our room faced courtyards, front and back. The room was clean and spacious with a fireplace, Mexican tile details, a well-lit bathroom. We used the hot tub, morning and evenings; it was clean and sufficiently hot. The staff was responsive. The bar/dining room have dark wood furnishings. Live entertainment on Saturday night was a local band and many locals turned out to dance. It was a real slice-of-life of the traditional southwest. The included breakfast buffet was a full meal: eggs, sausages, potatoes, french toast along with the usual cereal, fruit, toast, yogurt, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back to see us soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kitchen Rucus

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The room's heating/AC unit was held together with duct tape. I was disturbed to find the previous occupants chewing gum on the soap dish in the bathroom. The real excitement came though while eating in the restaurant. It took ten minutes to get seated, and at least that long to be greeted by the waiter. Then suddenly there was a commotion in the kitchen. Out burst a disgruntled employee who was swearing a blue streak dropping the F-bomb here and there. The manager was trying in the hardest way to get the employee to leave, but the employee was not about to, figuring he had about 5 minutes to harass the other employees and push the manager around until the police would arrive. I was fearful for my safety and the others in the restaurant, but mostly for the manager. After leaving the restaurant while walking back to our room, we walked past the restaurant hostess outside talking on her cell phone (remember how long it took to be seated) telling the person she was talking to "I don't F------g care, you're sick and need to take some medicine". Needless to say we were happy to make it back to our room and sink into bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Dear Taos Traveler, Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. We will definitely have this issue resolved so it does not happen again. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again. Paul Aragon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Adobe Style Hotel in Taos

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Southwestern style and convenience. Located close to Taos plaza and Taos Ski Valley.
Cons: Restaurant and bar service. Rooms were dusty.
Location: Skiing at Taos Ski Valley. Great local music and arts.
The rooms were decent and the decor was very much in the tradition of the southwest. We got the junior suite with hide-away queen bed for the kids to sleep on. The rooms were very dusty and could be an issue for allergy sufferers like myself. Probably due to the kiva fireplace and lack of dusting by the hotel. Beds were not comfortable. We were excited to spend the evening at the hotel and attend the restaurant and bar on-site. The sign on the roadway stated a live band and prime rib served every day. Sounds like a nice option after a long day of travel. Our expectations were quickly lowered when we went to the restaurant for dinner. Tried to sit in the bar area and order food so we could watch the band which was setting up. Bartender told us she was by herself and it would take her a long time to get to us (there were 2 other tables at the time). We asked about ordering food and she said we should move to the restaurant if we wanted food (the hotel website shows a bar menu). Moving to the restaurant area provided another disappointment. The hostess said it would be a long wait that they had just received a big order but the restaurant area was completely empty. I asked her how long and she said at least 1 hour (really??). This was followed by cursing and swearing nearby from the kitchen chef who appeared to be by himself. With that we waved a polite no thanks to the hostess and ventured out for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize about the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We like for our guest to leave with a fond memory of us. We will definitely get our rooms cleaned better and also talk with our staff in the kitchen to assure this does not happen again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay

Posted Jan 25, 2017
The room we booked had very foul smell and had a huge spider Webb. We asked to be changed to a different room which was nicer and more comfortable. The employee that helped us was very very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize about the issues during your stay. We hope you will come and see us again.