Ratings based on 1,645 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mixed

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast, comfortable bed
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: shops, TAOS PUEBLO
Comfortable room but old food left in fridge by previous occupant and no hair dryer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by FrontDesk, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting a survey. We do appreciate you staying at our lovely inn. I apologize about the food left in the fridge we will notify housekeeping about that issue. Hopefully we get to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Stayed in Jr. Suite. Roomy, clean, staff very nice. Excellent breakfast. Nice change compared to dump Machine lodge the night before. We left after one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Frontdesk, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting a survey. And staying at our lovely Inn. We are glad you had a great stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic New Mexico

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Older hotel with charm. People were friendly, room was spacious and the breakfast was top notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting the survey. We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast. Hopefully we get to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Old but reliable Southwestern style motel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We came up for the Taos Wool Festival and felt lucky to get a room. Our only complaints are that the room smelled a little musty and that we could hear the neighbor's dog barking while they were out. Otherwise, the bed was cozy, the bathroom clean, the breakfast a notch above other typical motel breakfasts. Nice grassy area and some pretty southwestern touches and decor. A little funky but reliable. On the outskirts of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Authentic adobe building

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The actual building.....breakfast/dining area was excellent with plenty of room and seating, good choices for breakfast.
Cons: The exterior of our room.......walkway, could be better maintained, by sweeping the debris from the trees from the walkway.
Location: Downtown Taos was a lovely place to visit, and the hotel was in a good location.
Loved the authenticity of the exterior of hotel....in keeping with the surrounding area. Dining room large and plenty of room to sit, and breakfast was ample. The room we had was in keeping with the rest of the authentic adobe style........large bathroom. We had a room on the first floor facing the courtyard. The ice machine was in reception which was quite a walk from our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to fix these issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chandler,AZ

Taos trip

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The hotel needs updating. The bath tub was so old and I couldn't use it. The room was charming but the bed uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the tub. We are working hard to fix these issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OK

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Did not get the room I reserved online. The room we were given was nice but I reserved a room with a fireplace. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good with a lot to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new mexico

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Excellent, except for the restroom needs fixtures repair or replacement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate the feedback and will have this fixed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque NM

Very old

Posted Oct 1, 2017
After getting all my bags up to the room I discovered the beds were not what I requested. Then I had to go back to reception to get another room. Then 3 separate times I told them my TV remote wasn't working and they assured me maintenance would take care of it and they didn5. Very frustrating. The buffet breakfast was ver good though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. That is why when we renovate we do so with a lot of thought and purpose. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

A new definition for "eclectic."

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: There is a need to do amenities updates to these rooms. The old look of tile and wood is attractive--but the old mattresses etc. need updating.
Location: Shopping, dining, Kit Carson Museum, galleries, Carson National Forest.....
The Sagebrush Inn and Suites is a historic hotel, that was probably charming at some time, but has now become dated and in need of repair. When checking in, the line for registration was getting longer, so one young lady had to leave a desk nearby to help out her inundated colleague with guest check in. I guess first impressions are key, as we were made to feel like we were bothering her because we were patronizing the hotel. Maybe this was a clue. We were put in a room in the "older" section of the hotel, which could have been considered charming except for the smell from an outdated carpet. The mattresses were probably as old as Georgia O'Keeffe. But the most surprising adventure is when we woke up one night at 5am, with water dripping on us, while we were sleeping. Could it be that the roof needed repair? Based on the water stains present on the ceiling, that was probably the first hint. We were moved to a "deluxe suite" in the newer section of the hotel. Really? It had the exact same decor, and patch job as the previous room, in this case, the roof didn't leak. We ate breakfast that morning, and walking into the lobby, we had to avoid a ceiling leak as well. The rooms are large, but when hotel proprietors try to stick with historic charm, hopefully they can include enough updates to keep the rooms comfortable and dry as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by sage, Hotel Management
Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. That is why when we renovate we do so with a lot of thought and purpose. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again.