Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2011 on Hotels
We arrived to find hotel in a state of remodeling. We had reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights. Our room smelled horribly and our friends room smelled very strongly of paint like it had just been painted that day. Mountains are pretty and area quite beautiful but probably will stay in Taos next time. No TV's in room or Air conditioning though is not usually needed in the cool air of the mountains. Room smell was awful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eh

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels
This place was alright. It is quaint, very lodge-y which is what it is. NO screens on the windows (EARLY spring, maybe thats why) and 2 girls on ground level? I know you are in the middle of nowhere but that's not great safety. Also the room smelled like cheap air fresheners (chemically) and I couldnt go out and leave the window open. argh! Also yes there's a restaurant et al, but none of that stuff was open, so after a LONG day on the road, we had to get BACK in the car and huff it to find dinner. It is cute, no doubt and really in the middle of nowhere, so I appreciated it, but they can do better with a simple investment of 50$/room to make it look better. They do sell gas there though! plus!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Sipapu Lodge a rustic retreat

Posted Oct 18, 2010 on Hotels
I was prepared for the lodge atmosphere get-away that I was seeking. Peaceful, quaint and quiet, no surprises. The Rio Pueblo River babbling beside the lodging area was a bonus and the fall colors were icing on the cake! I definitely will return again. If you want a Holiday Inn..this will be below your standards, however if you want the road less traveled you will be glad you went!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2010 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

rustic and "cheap" in both senses of the word

Posted Aug 4, 2010
I knew with the price I might be throwing the dice on quality. And this time I lost. It's good that I didn't spend much time there. In the rain it was muddy. My "neighbors" had a late night party that was noisy and at times obnoxious in language and behavior. If there had been a phone I would have called the desk to complain but there was no phone; it was late, I was in bed and the office was a ways away in a separate location. So i just suffered through it. The only good things about the place were the location, the mountain air, the interesting history of the place. When I complained about the party the next day, the person in charge simply asked if I complained to the person in a charge at night. I didn't think she showed enough concern about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lewis, NM

Sipapu Ski and Summer Resort amongst beauty but has flaws.

Posted Jun 9, 2010
The Sipapu Ski and Summer Resort is in a splendid setting about 20 miles south of Taos, NM, beside a beautiful river. There are no televisions (except in the restaurant), no phones, and there are off-season issues so ask about whether or not the restaurant is open. Bring at least a snack for the first day as it may not be open in the spring. Fishing the river requires a NM fishing license, but when asked this question, the front desk failed to mention that the fish pond on the property may be fished free by all guests. Be sure to fill you gas tank before leaving civilization. The surrounding area is covered with hiking trails and quaint towns, but few restaurants of any kind. All in all, a very peaceful place to visit, but come prepared.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice - But Not Perfect

Posted Jul 23, 2009 on Hotels
Overall, this was a good place to spend a couple of days in the mountains of New Mexico. The lodge had a great rustic character, along with a great streamside patio and hummingbirds constantly swarmed to the large feeders nearby. The motel room was large and adequate, however, outside noise was constantly an issue. There is no air conditioning, so if it is warm, you must open the window. For a while, very small kids on motorcycles buzzed around the unpaved parking lot surrounding the building. This meant that about every 20 seconds or so, the roar of the engines went right past our window. This place appears to be popular with nearby fourwheeling Texans who come for the weekend.
1 out of 5
by rudeesmom

interesting

Posted May 26, 2009 on Orbitz
The lodge only serves lunch and dinner. There is no place to eat breakfast. The beds were very uncomfortable, no TV/radio, no clock, no smoke detectors. I had a no smoking room; however I could smell smoke all night long. It was beautiful though!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

good place

Posted Dec 10, 2008
not bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Arnaudville, La

nice

Posted Jul 3, 2008
Room was clean and comfortable. No air conditioner or TV and No cell phone signal in area. 20 miles from town. If you get there late, it's a long trip back to town. Only store and food closes early. The place itself is great. Mountain is beautiful. Went in summer and would go back again.