Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for...

Posted Feb 28, 2015
This is one step above camping...bring plenty of food bc there is only one restaurant & it's terrible! Most of the staff is nice, but the lady manning the check in was rude and looked inconvenienced by our presence! Unless you're ready to rough it, go elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by Carrie from abq, NM

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Clean
Cons: It was a trailer...
When I purchased the room, the pictures on expedia showed a nice lodge and rooms. When we got there it was a trailer, no TV no Wifi, just an overpriced trailer. This should be considered false advertising because it is! My advise.. go to Taos ski Valley instead this was ridiculous! I would like at least half my money back for this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ilfeld, NM

Between a Rock and a Hard Place.

Posted Oct 1, 2011
Between a rock and a hard place we chose this "hotel" for one night. We are two elderly persons sent to the third floor of the lodge. After huffing and puffing from the three flights of outside stairs we found our lodge room rather disappointing.. Not sure when the last time the floor was swept of vacuumed, trash on the floor, one light, one outlet in the bathroom (actually a clean room) and we had to make up our own beds. Then they expected us to take the trash outside to the dumpster. Of course, no TV and the internet wifi did not work. Would never recommend this place to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

not again

Posted Aug 18, 2011
stayed in the bottom floor of the main lodge. The trailer in front of us had a fire going every afternoon, into the evening. Needless to say, we could not open our windows and put the box fan in it. No A/C...we roasted. The food was great and I would highly reccommend the bar and chef Eric. It was a long haul over the pass to Taos everytime. No sure I would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

rustic and "cheap" in both senses of the word

Posted Aug 4, 2010
I knew with the price I might be throwing the dice on quality. And this time I lost. It's good that I didn't spend much time there. In the rain it was muddy. My "neighbors" had a late night party that was noisy and at times obnoxious in language and behavior. If there had been a phone I would have called the desk to complain but there was no phone; it was late, I was in bed and the office was a ways away in a separate location. So i just suffered through it. The only good things about the place were the location, the mountain air, the interesting history of the place. When I complained about the party the next day, the person in charge simply asked if I complained to the person in a charge at night. I didn't think she showed enough concern about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lewis, NM

Sipapu Ski and Summer Resort amongst beauty but has flaws.

Posted Jun 9, 2010
The Sipapu Ski and Summer Resort is in a splendid setting about 20 miles south of Taos, NM, beside a beautiful river. There are no televisions (except in the restaurant), no phones, and there are off-season issues so ask about whether or not the restaurant is open. Bring at least a snack for the first day as it may not be open in the spring. Fishing the river requires a NM fishing license, but when asked this question, the front desk failed to mention that the fish pond on the property may be fished free by all guests. Be sure to fill you gas tank before leaving civilization. The surrounding area is covered with hiking trails and quaint towns, but few restaurants of any kind. All in all, a very peaceful place to visit, but come prepared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

good place

Posted Dec 10, 2008
not bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Arnaudville, La

nice

Posted Jul 3, 2008
Room was clean and comfortable. No air conditioner or TV and No cell phone signal in area. 20 miles from town. If you get there late, it's a long trip back to town. Only store and food closes early. The place itself is great. Mountain is beautiful. Went in summer and would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, FL

Relaxing stay in the mountains

Posted Jun 4, 2008
If you don't mind just getting the basics (for a very low price), this small mountain resort might be right up your alley. With no television or phone to distract you, you can get all the rest and relaxation you could possibly need. We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay and wish we could have stayed longer though we were just passing through.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Isis from Texas, USA

Roughing it

Posted Dec 28, 2007
Room was clean, but rather bare.