Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for the quality.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
It looks like the hotel is on its last chapter. Broken window blinds, one lamp didn't work, sheets stained, bed spread had holes, and the tub was very water stained. Good shower and the beds were comfortable. Room was spacious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Good value for price

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Easy parking. Located not far from what I wanted to do. Value was good for the price.
Cons: Housekeeping could have been better.
Location: Location was not far from shopping and other activities.
Staff was friendly. Room was cute and quaint, but old. Parking was easy. Housekeeping could have been better. Old tv, but it worked fine. Location was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, dated conditions.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Good value, quietand restful. The location was convenient.
Cons: The hotel needs an upgrade. The tv is very old as is most everything else.
Location: Right outside of towns historic district.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tulsa, oklahoma

Old but interesting and quaint.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Furnishing were interesting and room was clean and neat.
Cons: Grounds and outside painting.
Location: Easy access to downtown.
Found the room pleasantly nice with older furnishing still in good shape. Grounds need some upkeep but overall it was well worth the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa fe, nm

Dumpy, dirty, cobwebs all over room, old toweLs

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location. But will not go back
Cons: Everything. A good cleaning for starters.
Location: Taos has a lot to offer.
Ratty pillows, dim bulbs, poor maid svce,dirty. Will not return. No amenities. Junky surroundings, holes in park lot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Nice, older hotel with Taos charm

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The charm and location, size of the rooms, beauty of the property
Cons: upgrades on plumbing as it is an older property, the hot tub needs to be repaired/in service, upgrades to room amenities (newer tv) are needed
Location: I liked that it was on the edge of town, and not in the hustle and bustle in the center of town.
Hotel was nice, clean, and quiet. Huge room, which is rare these days, with beautiful Taos accents, and a kitchenette area -would have been perfect for a longer stay. Loved the trees and grassy area for sitting. Only negatives were: the hot tub was out of order, and looked like it had been for quite a while, which was disappointing; tiny, old tv that you could barely see and hear from the beds; bathroom faucets were not working properly; shower didn't drain properly; and coffee maker was not working properly. Otherwise, we had a nice overnight stay for the Alabama Shakes concert and I will definitely consider staying here in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth the Price

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
There is NO air conditioning. It was 90-95digrees while we were there. That is unusually Hot. We couldn't feel the ceiling fan either. Shower curtain was moldy. We kept the window open, but it was a little noisy. There was no one in the office most of the time. They provided ice bucket and cups but I couldn't find an ice machine anywhere. The best thing about it was NO BUGS, and a fairly comfortable bed. It was still better than The Kachina Lodge, where we stayed last time we were in the area.
2 out of 5
by Bren from Albuquerque

Front Desk staff is the only redeeming factor

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in between air conditioning systems, so there was no AC. The ceiling fan didn't work. Front desk offered a window fan, but the cord was too short to reach the outlet and there was no screen on the window. There were also spiders. Woke up in the middle of the night with a large spider on chest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Very disappointing experience.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing about the hotel.....the staff was friendly and the room was clean thanks to them.
Cons: See the review.
Location: OK, but pretty far from the shopping, the square, etc. of Taos.
Where to begin. Oh, when I first opened the door there was only one ceiling light and the room was quite dark. Only other light in the room was from two table lights by the bed. There were inadequate electric outlets. I had to move the one and only small table to another wall to power my laptop etc. Only two small, uncomfortable chairs in the room and a very small table. There wasn't even a bench or some place to put my suitcase. No comfortable chair or couch to sit on. The toilet flapper stuck which I repaired by jiggling it. Summary, it was a very old hotel with no amenities and in a very poor state of repair. The last straw which caused me to check out early, even though I had planned on staying four days, was that the door lock did not work the next morning, and they did not know when they could get it replaced. Only positive about my experience was that the room was clean thanks to a good and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by Linda from Tucson, AZ

Beware of the cheaper "basic" rooms.

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Cute property with adobe style but under new management and lots of.previous management/ owner neglect. No Ac, mis-represented by Hotels.com. Apparently I got a "basic" room. Also no large towel, no water glass, no refridg or microwave, no ice. Had to keep window open all the time and screen could be pushed out of frame with a light touch. Not fixed adequately while I was there and worried about easy access to room and pets while I was out.