Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Used to be a neat place

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Nice courtyard.
Cons: everything. Needs a full reno.
Location: It's Taos, DUH.
This was once a nice place. Owner is a cheapskate, won't spend money on necessary repairs. The staff is as helpful as they can be given the circumstances. Office is not manned at night, if you have a problem yer out of luck. Linens are threadbare. None of the services advertised online are available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Minimal accomodation

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet and well located.
Cons: Almost everything
Tiny cramped room, old sheets, no AC, leaky bathroom floor, skimpy amenities, ask at front desk for ice, tiny old tube TV without proper remote, paving and landscaping in poor condition, security concerns. Otherwise well located and quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Privacy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It was close to shopping and the movie theater. If I wanted to go downtown I had to drive.
Cons: privacy curtains on all windows for a start. New mattresses. The one in my room had the metal springs coming thru the bunting hurting my back.
Location: Walmart is just across the street, a Movie theater is near by and a Chinese restaurant was also within walking distance.
I had to put a blanket over the front and only window to have any privacy from my neighbors who were constantly outside the window yelling at each other. Room was clean and I appreciate that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio Rancho, NM

Pictures on the add are deceiving

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We got to the hotel late at night. The first room we got was not clean there's no sheets on the bed and the bed was on the floor. The second room they put us in wasn't any better at least the bed wasn't on the floor. When I went back down to the office they already closed for the night. We have to leave early the next morning before they even open so I couldn't talk to them. I'm trying at least get a partial or a full refund from them. The pictures of the rooms are deceiving.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not Prepared To Have Guests...yet

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Honestly, the people managing the front office were nice. I felt like they were doing the best that they could on a limited budget.
Cons: Almost everything, unfortunately.
Location: Shopping and historical sites are near this hotel.
This hotel is run down and is open on what appears to be a very low budget. On the weekend we arrived in Taos there were festivals and it was extremely difficult to find another hotel room in the area. One of our rooms did not have a working t.v., remote, and no screen on the windows. Both rooms did not have an air conditioner working. Room service was in the process of cleaning the rooms when we left and ended up leaving other guests' dirty towels and sheets on the floor of my room. Later at midnight a women let herself in my room unannounced to gather up the towels she left. She claimed she was room service. It startled us and we felt extremely uncomfortable and unsafe at that point. Our rooms were never freshened up and we were not given any soap for showering and other essentials for the bathroom. Both rooms were not cleaned properly. We ended up going to Walmart across the street to buy our own toiletries. Also, in the advertisement on the internet, they show a working hot tub. There was a broken down hot tub with weeds sprouting through cracks in the concrete. This hotel could be cute and inviting one day with the proper upkeep, however, for now it is only a run down tourist trap that should not receive guests until the cleanliness is a priority for the guests. I don't mind staying in older hotels that are clean and provide just the basics to make out stay comfortable, but this place should not be open for business yet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
I spent two nights with my mom. The first time we got a different room Than the one we booked, sheet were definitely inside out and ruined. We had the feeling they hadn't been changed. Not a great feeling being in that room, like everything wasn't clean. The second night we got the room we were supposed to, it was better at least. I guess it dipends on the room you are given to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel wasn't what we expected - the bed was horrible and the shower didn't have hot water either day we stayed there. It was relatively clean, but the bed and the shower really made it an uncomfortable stay. There were also people in the parking lot late at night - one set off a car alarm twice lasting over 45 minutes at around 1am. I definitely didn't feel like it was worth what we payed for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, Colorado

Bed Bugs

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Walmart
Checked in staff very friendly, due to heat they informed us that they gave us an upgrade with A/C but didn't tell us it came with Bed Bugs I got bitten several times before I saw one, we took five in a baggie to the office, but didn't offer any kind of discount, we were able to get a different room (something they called a suite) which wasn't that clean, they need to get rid of the ripped up couch, made the room look very unpleasing. The only nice thing I can say is thanks to expedia we got a discount on the room, isn't worth what they charge, they might want to turn it into a place where hookers can take their customers. Will not recommend or stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend a couple of Extra Dollars for somewhere else

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com should really think about whether you really want to be affiliated with Sun God Lodge. The buildings are in poor condition, and the housekeeping is next to non-existant. I really am unsure if the bathroom or atleast the toilet was cleaned prior to our arrival. The "housekeeper" who I think lives on the property free barged in on us twice, without knocking to make sure people weren't walking around naked! And when she did and found that we were there even after notifying her that we would be leaving shortly, we would return hours later and our room never got cleaned, no trash taken out, beds unmade, etc. Now none of this would be a big deal if they advertised that housekeeping isn't available but there's clearly someone who get paid for this - in fact she requests a tip! For what? Clean towels twice and for us removing our own trash from the room, after hunting down the closest trash bin? Heed our warning - don't do it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot, no air

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The maintenance man did try to be helpful
Cons: The rooms temperature, cleanliness, the stairway as well a dead bug.
Location: in a good location.
Arriving office was closed, but maintenance came out and directed us to our keys, which were located in the office mail box . He tried to be very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were hot and stuffy and with a investing more in this motel, it can be a great one.