Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by sara

Could be better

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: Our stay started wonderfully with a very welcoming hug from Yolanda, the owner. She's incredibly warm and eager to tell you about the area and things to do. The building has wonderful thick walls, and is beautifully furnished. Definitely has a very homey feel. She also offers a nice breakfast with fresh fruit and something cooked up for you, we were offered eggs and ham. Cons: Upon arriving we were "upgraded" to a different room (unclear if the upgrade was due to us being on our honeymoon or if she had accidentally put someone in the room we reserved). The room we had booked had a queen bed, and the room she upgraded us to had two twin beds pushed together which she called a king bed. There was no comforter or topper on the twins, just a fitted sheet, you couldn't lay in the middle due to the ridge. The twin beds were also old and definitely in need of replacement. It was a shame to have such a beautifully furnished room with such a poor bed. Another con is the room did not have a do not disturb sign, and although I told her while leaving in the morning not to make the bed or clean the room, they still went in while we were gone and cleaned the room, made the bed and replaced the towels. The last thing could be a pro or a con, the location is a bit removed and on these lovely back roads next to great fields. Pro because it's gorgeous, con because you can't really walk to main attractions in Taos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodland, WA

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: The outside was quiet and pleasing
Cons: Ice maker, air conditioning. One of the windows would not close after opening it for cooling breeze
Location: Taos--the city and galleries
The ice maker was broken. There was no air conditioning The King bed was 2 twin mattress on top of a box, so there was a crack in the middle. The bricks in the floor for the hall were loose--the hall was narrow
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Taos Vacation

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Large room. I really liked the Spanish tile floors.
Location: Beautiful yard and nice area for taking a walk. Taos has shopping, hiking, great restaurants, Taos Pueblo, lots to explore.
The Taos Country Inn has a lot of character and is much more enjoyable to stay at than a regular hotel. Our room was comfortable and roomy. The breakfast was very good as well.
5 out of 5
by Marianne from Tulsa, OK

Charming and Convenient

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Charming southwestern style inn. Beautiful views and comfortable accommodations. Quiet neighborhood with short drive to the Taos Plaza and other area attractions. Owner is a gracious hostess and serves delicious breakfasts. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Long weekend get away - Someplace New!

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: It was in a peaceful, lovely location, we had privacy in our room, yet in the Breakfast Room made new friends & the food Yolanda prepared was amazing!
Cons: The bed was not as comfortable as we would have liked, as it kind of sunk in, in the middle, but each night we slept better than the night before!
Location: Taos Plaza w/ live music on Thursdays in summer, Williams Lake Hike, the ski area, Arroyo Seco, The Bridge, San Francisco Asis Church & terrific food.
Yolanda is the most delightful person we could have ever imagined meeting when we arrived at Taos Country Inn. She personifies warmth and kindness and gives great hugs as well as great suggestions! We enjoyed being there when we were and enjoyed everything she suggested doing when we weren't. Loved the atmosphere, the surroundings, her kindness and her cooking! Also, my husband and I both feel as if we've made a new friend. We thoroughly enjoyed every conversation we had with Yolanda. She is the kind of person who just makes you smile!
5 out of 5
by Andrea from Austin

Passing through

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic! We will be back with friends and family. Such a relaxing atmosphere we ended up staying in and enjoying the patio with a bottle of wine.
5 out of 5
by karma from swiss

super

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Only what i Can Say Is super freundlich
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B close to town

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Convenience
Location: Close to shopping, close to town, close to the Rio Grande Gorge...A must see!
Check-in was great. Room had a Queen instead of King. Due to all of the rain, the room smelled like soot due to the fireplace. Breakfast was great. Barb was a great hostess and very informative!
3 out of 5
by Lawrence from Winona, MS

Bait and switch

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was clean. We reserved a room online and upon arrival at 11:30 at night we were given the option of two other rooms, neither of which were as nice as the room we had reserved and received confirmation for. The on site manager was staying in the room we had reserved yet it was online as available. We were told we would have a private patio, we did not. Our television was a 12 inch. It is a very pleasant bed and breakfast but badly managed and over priced for the amenities. To do a bait and switch and take advantage of travelers coming in late and tired is not the way to coduct business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

not what I expected

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The hostess
Cons: The bathroom!
Location: Taos is a great place to visit and full of history
The room was pleasing, the bathroom was horrible. The plaster was falling off the ceiling and it was rotted around the shower tiles to the point that I wasn't sure what still kept them on the walls. And the tub was full of bugs. I needed a shower and decide to brave it by rinsing the bugs down the drain. But as soon as I was in the shower more came out of the tiles. Very unsettling experience. Plus the place was infested with mosquitos. We tried going for a walk but were driven inside by them. At one point my daughter had over a dozen on her back. Weirdest experience in a B&B that I've had yet. The hostess and the food were great. The facility was pretty, but once you got into the bathroom it all fell apart.