Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Great friendly old world...great food

Posted Sep 20, 2016
They were very accommodating we decided to stay 2 nights.... Great sights and super neat village...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

This Old Landmark is Just Old

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The Taos Inn has a great location and a roomy parking lot. Usually, Doc Martin's is excellent.
Cons: The rooms need an overhaul. The air conditioning/heating systems must be replaced. I figured it out on my own, but it was not easy.
On a positive note, the people at the Taos Inn are very friendly and eager to make your stay a pleasant one. And you can't beat the location. However . . . The rooms at the Taos In are tired and shabby. The air conditioning/heating system operates on a thoroughly confusing system that leaves the heating and cooling battling it out. The rooms themselves need a face lift. The restaurant, Doc Martin's, has always been a big reason we stop in Taos. The lamb shank, which last year was outstanding, was dry and tasteless.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Charming should not mean icky.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Was very excited to stay in this hotel. I like charm. This was not charming except for the location. I thought all hotels had queen size beds these days. Pillows were lumpy, bathroom needed an update, shag carpeting??? Found two bugs in the bed when I woke up. Wouldn't have been so bad to stay in a Motel 6 type room except I paid Hyatt prices. The bar was hopping and had a great vibe. Breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly. So I would definitely eat or drink there but not recommend staying overnight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Great Hotel in the Heart of Taos

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The Historic Taos Inn is a great place to stay if you are traveling to Taos, New Mexico. Located in the heart of the Plaza district on Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, it is within easy walking district of almost everything worth seeing in Taos. Bent street, home of the Bent Museum where Governor Bent was killed in the early days of New Mexico's territorial history, the plaza, where numerous shops and restaurants can be found, and around the corner from the Kit Carson Museum, where the famous mountain man and guide for numerous expeditions which mapped the west spent his final days. Next door, is a great park and there are more art galleries than you can see in a concentrated area than anyplace west of the Mississippi. Music every night, a friendly staff and the availability of a gym and pool right down the street which is open to guests of the inn, make the historic Taos Inn, the perfect place to stay on your visit to Taos. This was our first visit to Taos after many years of visiting Santa Fe and other places in New Mexico and our stay here made the visit one we look forward to repeating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AK

Finding fun in Taos

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Quaint historic little hotel that is located in the center of Taos. Loved it. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Beautiful courtyard. Parking provided. Definitely worth a try.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful old hotel,

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Quaint, historical lovely hotel
Cons: Serve breakfast at the restaurant . Update some of the rooms.
Location: Great location. Lots of shopping
Loved the gardens the rooms need updating. Don't like carpet much, the hotel was laid out beautiful seems to have a garden for all the rooms. The location is right down in the historic district, you can walk to just about every thing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Unique and full of character and characters

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The unpredictable character of the old and historic property.
Cons: Don't Improve anything the hotel is oozing with character.
Location: The Hacienda de Los Martinez toward Rancho de Taos was outstanding and my all time favorite. The Rio Grande Gorge area was spectacular.
This Historic Hotel is quirky and fun. I would recommend this hotel only to someone who is interested in the history of the Taos community and the local arts/ culture. From my stay at this centrally located hotel I could still get a feel for the actual community beneath the veil of overt tourism. Tourism sustains the town which is positive and to be expected. I would not recommend the hotel to someone who has high expectations for comfort and conformity. The charm of my stay included the character of the unmatched room decor, the locks and keys that were difficult to operate and the crazy and unpredictable ebb and flow of the cooling system. I even enjoyed the comedic actions of the loud and difficult day waitress in the cafe bar area. One would get the feeling that you have invaded her personal space by sitting down and actually ordering a meal. Good thing the food was very good . I got the feeling that the hotels cafe waitress typifys the conflicted feelings that the locals have with the tourist invasion in general. So Taos traveler beware of being viewed as an necessary invader!
5 out of 5
by Ruth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Janet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Saugatuck , Mi

Cool place, great location

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
We just stayed one night and everything was great. We had booked a regular room but we're upgraded to a king. The original room (107) was part of the old main building and was very nice and charming. It was however located on a courtyard next to her kitchrn door and we could hear banging pots and dishes. I asked to be moved because I was concerned about early morning noise. It may not have been a problem because I later found out that the restaurant doesn't start serving until 11am. In any case the desk staff didn't hesitate to move us and the new room was also very nice and perfectly clean. The location can't be best, the bar/ lobby area is very cool. We'd definitely stay again.