Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel next to motorway near to town

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Plenty of road noise. Trucks and cars throughout the night. WiFi signal very poor. Shower cubicle has mould on silicon. Power tripped when A/C and kettle were working simultaneously.
4 out of 5
by donald

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
nice and handy to town will stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Perfect!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great place to stay I highly recommend this Motel it has everything you need and the washing machine is free to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in walking distance to amenities.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Upgraded to a 3 bedroom bungalow away from this motel site, with everything you could possibly need. Very spacious and good parking.
Cons: The house is in the process (we think) of a refit. New carpets, bathroom, big TV is a great start. Quirky kitchen and decoration next?.
Location: As above. Arts, museums, coastal walk, Taranaki is beautiful.
New Plymouth is a great town with big beaches and walks, culture and of course, the volcano. Friendly place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

A friendly clean experience

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The friendly people, cleanliness, comfortable bed and all the things from home in the kitchen I needed.
Location: shopping and beach and restaurants
I had 3 nights at Northgate Hotel and loved New Plymouth. I found a short way to the beach maybe 5 blocks away. But the nicest route was under a bridge and into the forest to the beach perhaps about 8 blocks away. The first day went for a long walk to the North past the surfers and a golf course and a campsite right to the end where there was a white bridge. Then back for a quick snack at my Motel. Everything was self contained having a stove top, fridge, a electric kettle, coffee press, all the dishes and glasses I needed. The bathroom was nice and clean with a great shower with hot water right away. The TV had lots of channels. There was a grocery store withing 4 blocks to walk to and get food to keep me going while having my stay. After my lunch break I went for another walk going the shorter way and down a hill to the beach and walked along the boardwalk into the downtown area where they were having a car show going on. I found the Shopping Mall easily and walked around there for a bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and staff. clean and quiet room.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
nice hotel and staff. clean and quiet room. good location to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location was ideal for our touring plans in New Plymouth.
Location: Surfing at Fitzroy Beach Coastal Walkway in late afternoon early evening of sunny day. Paritutu Rock hike
Initially had planned on staying only one night but when earlier events in our itinerary changed while we were on the road, Paul was able to get us into a room for an additional day. Excellent communication. The room was well appointed and the wi-fi service and TV were quite sufficient for our needs.
5 out of 5
by sue

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Terry

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay.