Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central to the city

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: centrally located. The rooms were soundproof from neighbouring rooms
Cons: the maze like room locations
Location: centrally located to all the night clubs, restaurants and the TSB Showplace.
A maze of rooms made it a little longer to find our room, I'm always wary about emergency exits when staying in a strange place. The room was light with 2 external windows and internally double glazed windows which became apparent later in the evening as the hotel is close to a night club. There was quite a bit of noise but it didn't bother us as the location is centrally located in the city. The bed linen was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the complimentary toiletries were excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice hotel close to town.

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Position.
Cons: Was fine for a base.
Location: Close to restaurants, cafes.
Had everything needed for a short stay. Close to all amenities. No street noise. Pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Wotif
Great family room, we requested a porta cot and it was ready and waiting for us. Comfortable for our family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taupo

Great location close to CBD

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Wotif
Comfortable clean room with spa bath. We only stayed one night but would go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Only complaints are that there was very little natural light from a tiny window, and there was a weird creaking noise that kept me awake at night - possibly a door swinging in a nearby room? Otherwise very nice - staff were helpful, lots of little extras in the room - body lotion, bath salts etc. Good central city location, bed was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Iain B from Auckland

Cntral New Plymouth convenience

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Was there for one nigth - was basic - confined rood (208)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Beds were comfortable.
Cons: Restaurant being open, sound proofing rooms.
Location: Great central location.
Unfortunately the onsite restaurant, the reason we choose to stay, was closed so no dine in or room service this was a Saturday night too so was surprised, which meant we had to brave the weather which was atrocious. Also the noise from the corridors and the next door rooms woke us all. Beds were comfortable and room was clean, but the central heating didn't seem to be working properly either as you could control the heat in the lounge but the bedroom was like a oven. Definitely won't be going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Centred in township

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Proximity to shops
Cons: I always sleep with window open which I was able to do, but then couldn't close curtains as on wrong side of curtain track. Coffee sachets unpleasant
Good size room, clean and comfortable. Bed very good and firm. Couldn't close curtains if window open, as curtains put on wrong side of double glazed window. Coffee sachet not pleasant. Should provide a better quality coffee sachet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Don't expect to eat here

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Comfy bed and pillows, spa bath, lots of toiletries including make up remover cloth.
Cons: Hotel looked tired and rundown. Stains on carpet in hallways, crooked pictures, just sloppy.
Location: Len Lye museum -world class, beautiful, astounding. Be nice if it had more Len Lye in it though. Boardwalk, great local artists.
I was told that there weren't enough guests to warrant opening the kitchen, so no dining room and no room service. I had to go out in the cold to get something to eat. Unheard of I would have thought for a hotel of Copthorne's reputation. I won't be going back - left a sour taste.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central to everything!!

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Wotif
Very pleasant stay. Comfortable and good value we needed 2 beds and this helped decide choice of hotel and we were very impressed