Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Location in old part of Taranto, lots to see within walking distance.
Staff were great, very professional, helpful with local information. The facilities were modern, we had a view from our balcony, just beautiful l wish we could have stayed longer. Also wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel an staff were excellent. best not to walk through the old town but rather along the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa, CA

Beautifully Elegant, Quaint & Unique in Taranto

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: It was small, quaint, very elegant, and reasonable. Its location in old Taranto places it within a kilometer of the famous Lungo Mare walk and city.
Cons: A simple advisement that the internet access changes by floor, e.g. Arcangelo hotspot good ground floor; Alice-63574857 is good on 1st floor up.
Location: Taranto Vecchio, new Taranto, Lungo Mare Walk, the Castle Angelo, and oceanic canoeing in the summer.
We were a bit nervous reserving a hotel over the web in an area with which I had little experience, but our stay at Hotel Arcangelo was fantastic! Just by points to cover the basics: The hotel is literally 5 minutes via taxi from Taranto's central train station, or 10 Euros. If you're back packing, it's about 1 kilometer straight across the bridge from the train station. It's not an easy hotel to see as it's nestled back from a short piazza, but you can find it readily enough. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Katia by day and Antonio for the night shift. They were friendly to a fault, courteous and simply sincere and warm. Katia speaks basic English while Antonio speaks English very well. The breakfast in the morning is Italian, continental, and with every cup of coffee made to order by (at least for us) Antonio. The room we had was lovely, with vaulted ceilings, a very nice new bathroom within with the shower gave a wonderfully strong flow of water. Everything was pristine indeed. After hours you have to knock or ring because the door to the hotel is locked, but someone quickly opens your door to allow you in. It is "Taranto Vecchio" after all and given the fact it's such a small hotel, security is paramount. The internet service was excellent, though with one caveat I'll list below. I can assure you this, I was so impressed by this hotel that when I return with my wife, this will be the place we stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Boutique hotel in the heart of Taranto old town

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Lovely, helpful staff and their commitment to breathing life into the old town.
Location: I highly recommend a visit to the cathedral (the the baroque side chapel is magnificent), the castel (free guided tour) and the Archaelogical Museum.
We spent two nights at Hotel L'Arcangelo. It is a small boutique hotel in a beautifully renovated old building. We had a corner bedroom on the first floor. It was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff are all very helpful and give great advice of what to do/eat. The hotel is situated in Taranto old town (an island) which is slowly undergoing renovation, so in parts can look quite derelict, but is completely safe to explore. An evening stroll around the island is fantastic. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the major sites and main shopping street.
3 out of 5
by Frequent traveller from USA

Not consistent

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels
A nice hotel with helpful staff and adequate amenities . Overpriced, especially considering the neighborhood. Surprised to be charged 2 euro for water in the minibar when most of the other places I stayed on this trip gave one gratis and they cost 50 centesimi in the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
by Annie 5040

Lovely, lovely hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2012 on Hotels
This is a delightful hotel in a great location for the old city of Taranto. Cynthia and her team work hard to make everyone feel welcome and cared for - nothing is too much trouble Our room was very small but had everything we needed, including a balcony. Everything in the hotel was so clean it gleamed The old city is sadly run down but full of character. A tour of the castle is recommended, as is restaurant Il Canale
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK

Small hotel in Taranto

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: The very friendly staff, who genuinely wanted you to have a good stay.
An immaculately restored building (only been open about 7-8 months) just on the edge of Taranto old town. The place was spotlessly clean and the staff very polite, pleasant and helpful. Easy to find, which is always helpful, and with free street parking overlooked by the entrance to the hotel. Very good breakfasts and probably the best capuchini we had in a week's travelling in Puglia. We booked on the strength of other reviews and were not disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by paulette from cleveland ohio usa

arcangelo

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Pros: The staff couldn't do enough for you.
Location: Very near the train station and waking distance to the city center
I really enjoyed the room with all the stone work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very helpful and friendly staff

Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels
Our room was newly renovated, quite large and very comfortable. The staff was incredibly helpful with local information. Short walk from the train station, just over the bridge and directly on the other side of the piazza with the fountain. Several good restaurants nearby. A fine choice for your stay in Taranto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Taranto

Posted May 7, 2012 on Hotels
Well presented, clean with very attentive and friendly employees. Breakfast was excellent, and the room had everything you could want. There are several excellent restaurants, with the Trattoria Ugo well worth a visit. The location is excellent if you are traveling in Puglia, with easy access to several motorways. I would highly recommend a stay at Hotel L'Arcangelo.