Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel, excellent food

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Food, grounds, comfortable public areas.
Cons: Lack of wifi and mobile phone access. Beds were a tad small
Location: Lovely rural location with walks in grounds. Tarbart very pretty, Crarae gardens were a revelation, smokehouse at Skipness and castle worth a visit.
We had a lovely stay at Stonefield Castle, service was excellent and food was great. Staff were very friendly, extensive grounds for walking. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful retreat

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Amazing Himalayan gardens to walk around, breathtaking views from many spots, very good service and food. Our only complaint was that the carpet in the bedroom needed vacuuming. Our was covered in pet hair but the rooms were nicely decorated and worked well :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Property with Great Potential

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Common areas have a grand feel to them.
Cons: Greater attention to the little details - clean cobwebs in corners, clear slow draining shower, have sheets that are big enough to tuck-in, etc.
Location: The hiking trails among the heathered hills above town provide breathtaking views of the region.
Beautiful location on the Kintyre Peninsula. Quiet grounds close to the cute town of Tarbert. Could see how this would have been an impressive castle in its heyday but is showing its age, wear & tear. The attending staff were very friendly, professional and put great effort into ensuring an enjoyable experience. However, the facility overall seemed understaffed for the amount of guests present and tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

I felt like a Princess staying at Stonefield Castl

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: I liked the ambiance and the friendly staff.
Cons: Some things are looking a little run down and could use maintenance.
Location: Stonefield Castle is close to Tarbert which is the most adorable fishing village. Good little shops and a great pub. Also go see Tarbert Castle.
Unfortunately the weather was not cooperating (slashing rain) the day that we stayed at Stonefield Castle so we did not get a chance to enjoy the beautiful gardens or walk by the lake, but we did spend time in the warm and cozy bar reading, which was a nice way to relax after many days of travel. Our room was very comfortable and clean, the staff were helpful and welcoming, the dinner was fabulous, the serving staff very professional, breakfast (which was included) was also very good. Although the castle is looking a little worn around the edges, let's face it, it is almost 200 years old! I loved the ambiance and felt that it was very good value for our dollar. I would highly recommend staying here on your trip to Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The silence:-). Everything is done to satisfy the client. Very nice walk around the castle.
Cons: The pool table need another top.
The atmosphere is very pleasant. The service is exceptional at the hotel and at the dining room. We had a very good dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Friendly staff...very knowledgeable bartender

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Perfect location for those taking a ferry to Islay or Jura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Great views great staff

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Staff and beds
Cons: Needs updating in public areas
Location: It was beautifully positioned and made eating in restaurant a reL pleasure
We had a lovely stay at Stonefield and found the staff to be terrific nothing was to much bother we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
My wife and I found this to be our favorite stay on our two week trip to Scotland. Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic location overlooking the Loch.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: It was on the side of a loch.
Cons: Dining room could do with updating.
Location: Don't know - just stayed one night en route home.
Booked this as our last night in Scotland before travelling home to England. We were in the annex part of the hotel and our room was very nice, albeit a little dark. All the lights in the hotel appear to use low energy bulbs so it's a little on the dark side but in-keeping with the age of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive and we couldn't fault the service. Dined in the restaurant and we enjoyed our meal but do think the dining room needs updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful location

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The hotel public areas, grounds, staff and full service breakfast are the winners here. We loved the paths and island. The breakfast was 5 stars and the views from the dining area were breath taking.