Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Delightful hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Comfort and modern conveniences. Very good breakfast in pleasant surroundings. Easy to park very close to the hotel. Very good value for money.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Tarland is a small village well-situated for touring the beautiful local countryside and visiting Braemar, Ballater and Balmoral.
We were recommended to The Commercial by a relative and we were very glad we booked it. The room was very comfortable and newly-refurbished in a modern style with a quality bathroom. Everything you could need for a short stay was provided.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Walking trip

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Great food
Location: Set in a clean little village around farming country not far from Cairngorms. Craigievar Castle & Grampian motor museum in Alford both worth a visit.
Nicely appointed single room at a reasonable price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bicester

Friendly hotel

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: Close to Braemar, Balmoral and much more
We stayed here for a wedding locally. The hotel staff were really helpful: organised us a taxi to and from the wedding venue and phoned on the day to check the arrangements. Staff were all friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. Rooms are quite small but nicely decorated and with everything you need. A good place to stay if visiting the sights of this part of Scotland and a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baden-Württemberg

Uriges Landhotel in den schottischen Highlands

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: The Commercial ist ein ruhiges, uriges, kleines Landhotel, in dem sich die schottische Gastfreundlichkeit sehr gut erleben lässt. Zentrale Lage.
Cons: - - -
Location: Das Hotel liegt in Aboyne/Tarland in den schottischen Highlands. Gute Ausgangslage für Ausflüge in den Highlands, Speyside u. zum Golfspielen.
Wir haben nur eine Nacht im The Commercial in Tarland/Aboyne verbracht. Das Zimmer war klein, was uns aber nicht gestört hat. Alles war sehr sauber und liebevoll eingerichtet, auch wenn es an der einen oder anderen Stelle etwas altmodisch war. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Wir haben einige gute Tipps erhalten für unsere Weiterfahrt zu den Highland Games in Braemar. Das Essen abends im Pub/Restaurant war landestypisch und sehr lecker. Es gab ein kleines Frühstücksbuffet und zudem konnte man sich Full Scotish Breakfast, verschiedene Eierspeisen oder Porridge nach Wunsch bestellen.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Kent

unexpected upgrade

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
We were upgraded unexpectedly. beautiful room and fantastic facilities. Lovely land lady, great service in the pub/restaurant. Could not fault it in any way. would highly recomend it
4 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David from Redcar

Great Hotel will stay again if in the area

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great Hotel with good staff top of the range breakfast great public bar and well used by the locals
5 out of 5
by Björn from Borlänge, Sweden

Truely worth a stay more then one night

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely hotel, The Commercial Hotel. We stay there for two nights, during our road trip of Scotland. The staff was very friendly and helpfull at all times. A wonderfull room and the food was superb. We really recommend a stay here if you travel around.
5 out of 5
by Ewa from Västerås

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Mysigt litet hotell i bra skick och med jättegod mat, men det ligger mitt ute i ingenstans, så man måste ha bil för att ta sig dit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels