Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place to take a break from larger cities of the area. Within walking distance to historic area. Helpful staff. Lovely pool area. We did not use the bar or restaurant. It was noisy very early Sunday morning with people returning to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Terence from Milton Keynes

Great Hotel, shame about the restaurant.

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel rooms excellent and very good facilities.Car park free and lots of space.Staff mostly very helpful and friendly.Great base for visiting the area. Only five minute easy walk into town with many ,bars and restaurants. Would have scored 5 but for the restaurant which we thought was expensive, poor selection staff that did not seem to know what they were doing.Would definitely stay again but will eat in town. Would
5 out of 5
by Susan from PA, USA

hotel from a an Abbey - a succes

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
What a treat to stay in this historical building transformed into a modern hotel and spa. Te personnel was very gracious and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Good Bones, Bad Dress

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Access by road is very easy and the parking is ample and free.
Cons: Nearly everything.
Location: Montauban is pretty dismal, like a town where all the children leave as soon as they can. We enjoyed the Ingres museum.
This is listed as a four star hotel but that is grade inflation. There are some elements that might lift it out of the 3 category, but when everything is added together this is no higher than a 3. Two of the three staff at the front desk were far less than helpful or welcoming. The rooms are very similar to a well kept very average motel in the US, nothing at all fancy or luxurious. The restaurant was all right, also a clear 3 with plastic place mats and paper napkins. It isn't that the food was bad, it was simply average. The bones of the old abbey are there in plain view but the rest is Holiday Inn.
4 out of 5
by Micheil from Toronto

Beautiful hotel. Eat elsewhere.

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very pleasant. Lovely quiet courtyards. Restaurant was overpriced and food was adequate. It's a 5 minute walk to the city centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TJR from London

Business (and some pleasure)

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Location, ease, room size, dog friendly, good food and good wines by the glass.
Cons: Too big, corporate feel in some areas.
Location: Montauban is a lovely city. Compact, very attractive centre - looks good even in the pouring rain!
Easy to find, easy to park, good room, good restaurants. One with a Michelin star which I'm sure is excellent although we ate in the Bistro which was also very good. House champagne delicious at Euros 7 a glass. Lots of business types about and working on computers through dinner which I think is not a) strictly necessary or b) good manners! Reception staff over busy and sometimes reception unmanned which is not great in a big hotel like this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2012 on Hotels
The Abbaye des Capucins Hotel is a beautiful hotel arranged around 2 courtyards, with excellent facilities. We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here.