Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Room incorrectly assigned at check-in. Room poorly cleaned. Got food order wrong in lounge bar. Waited 10 minutes for a glass of water at breakfast; coffee never turned up. Long wait at check-out.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Bedford

Decent Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was a bit iffy, but otherwise a decent hotel. Nice grounds and has its own golf course. Room was a bit warm and didn't have air con, but otherwise comfortable. Breakfast was fine and service was friendly.
5 out of 5
by Lincoln j

Birthday weekend

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Two night stay for my birthday and watch the British Superbike at Oulton Park. Staff where great couldn't do enough for us. Including finding oa lost ticket. Rooms where clean and the bed was very comfortable. Large shower and bath. Pleasant bar staff made you feel welcome.
2 out of 5
by Daniel from Warrington

Ruined by noise and badly trained housekeepers!

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel looks very grand from the outside with stunning grounds. Check in was swift and efficient. Unfortunately the sound transferring to the rooms isn't great... We stayed here as it was close to a wedding venue we were at. As the hotel is mainly golfing guests, the early trips these guests were making to the breakfast room was extremely loud in the room with little to no soundproofing provided by the door. Further to this, early on we received a knock on the door from housekeeping. Without having chance to open the door, they opened it themselves and let themselves in. My wife was still in her underwear whilst trying to get to the door so was understandably shocked. The housekeeper then came in gesturing for her to take one of the beds?! She took the bed, wedging open the hotel room door and we did our best to keep our dignity as guests carried on walking past... all in all, terrible service. We expected so much more from MacDonald hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice countryside hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Nice surroundings nice food.
My 50th birthday treat followed with a massage in the spa.
4 out of 5
by Mark

good hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
short stay for a wedding nearby, room large and comfortable. breakfast was pretty good too
1 out of 5
by Harmone from Northwich

Poor

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
We weren't impressed that someone else dinner bill was added to ours! Good job we checked it out. Cocktails were poor as most of the ingredients were missing....
4 out of 5
by Neil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Simon from Middlewich

Terrible service and food.

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel for my anniversary as I had heard that it was nice, I stay away with work all the time so expected the hotel to be a certain standard being four star, how wrong could I be. The restaurant was shocking after waiting over half an hour after being seated for our hugely overpriced bottle of wine it still had not arrived by the time our very poorly presented starter came. The couple sat behind us were already saying they had been sat there for over an hour and had still not had their main course, it was not looking good. When I questioned the waiter about the wine there was no apology just a blank look. when our food eventually came it was disgusting we had four onion rings that were served in half a bowl of fat seriously a full half bowl of fat!! the steaks were almost inedible how you can burn a steak to such a state is beyond myself, I had asked for medium and it was rock hard. the whole meal was a complete joke. I once again pointed this out to the front of house waiter and asked him to tell me what he thought of the meal it really was very very poor quality for a four star hotel. We left the restaurant very hungry. !