Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Michigan

Country hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Orbitz
Nice hotel in a country setting. Excellent English breakfast!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'd stay again !!

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was lovely although drinks are quite expensive. Staff very helpful. Room service breakfast was cold, there were items missing off the order and it was late. Also, the entrance road and the car parks need lighting fitted. Other than that (which isn't major), a really nice hotel.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should not be short-staffed at these prices

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Nice room. Tasty breakfast.
Cons: The hotel management should avoid short staffing! The wait at reception, but in particular the bar and breakfast was absolutely ludicrous.
This isn't a cheap hotel so I expected good service, but it was notably lacking due to a shortage of staff. Although there two members of staff at reception, only one was actually doing check-in, which then took quite a while due to IT issues. Later at the bar there was a 30 minute wait to get served by the two members of staff who were run off their feet manning the bar, waiting tables and cleaning up. Everybody was complaining. Furthermore, if I'm being charged the price of a bottle of wine (£9.60) for a 250 ml glass I expect exemplary service. But I think that breakfast was the most disappointing. I had to queue for 30 minutes to get a table despite there being plenty of vacant tables that were waiting to be set. I have NEVER had to queue for a breakfast table before anywhere. EVER!!! When it arrived, the breakfast was of good quality although they couldn't have found a smaller sausage if they had tried. The room was clean and comfortable. The frontline staff were not to be blamed for this farce as they were trying their very best. The blame lies squarely with the management cutting corners by short-staffing. The huge delays at the bar almost certainly lost Macdonald hotels more than they scrimped. They have also lost a customer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Nice hotel but steep bar prices

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Overall it was quite nice, a little dated, but overall clean and tidy and did the job. I was however astounded that a large glass of Sauvignon cost £12, seemed extremely steep, more expensive that what I pay in good quality wine bars. Overall, nice, but overpriced for what you get
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Simon

Good Stay

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed one night in a classic double room. Room very large and well presented. Staff friendly and polite. Cooked breakfast a little small.
3 out of 5
by Iestyn from Oxford

Nice hotel - Crippling drinks prices!

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was nice, staff friendly however food was very expensive, cheapest dish was £14 (sausage and Mash) and the drinks were well over priced. £14.50 for a double vodka and coke!
5 out of 5
by Yuk

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by maureen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels