Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice countryside hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Nice surroundings nice food.
My 50th birthday treat followed with a massage in the spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Hotel was lovely, I'd iust say it's very expensive! Within the first 5 minutes of arrival we spent £50 on 2 sandwiches and a bottle of wine and we were then charged £5 tray charge even when we were round the corner from the bar. Rooms were lovely and reception staff very helpful. The only downfall was breakfast. We waited 40minutes for this to come. When ordered him I clearly stated no bacon so after 40 minutes of waiting it arrived and the lad just plonked it down saying nothing and went to walk of until I called him back. My order was completely wrong. He said they ran out of sausages so I've got to have bacon. What annoyed me was that no one came across to explain and I wasn't given a choice to change my order.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should not be short-staffed at these prices

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Nice room. Tasty breakfast.
Cons: The hotel management should avoid short staffing! The wait at reception, but in particular the bar and breakfast was absolutely ludicrous.
This isn't a cheap hotel so I expected good service, but it was notably lacking due to a shortage of staff. Although there two members of staff at reception, only one was actually doing check-in, which then took quite a while due to IT issues. Later at the bar there was a 30 minute wait to get served by the two members of staff who were run off their feet manning the bar, waiting tables and cleaning up. Everybody was complaining. Furthermore, if I'm being charged the price of a bottle of wine (£9.60) for a 250 ml glass I expect exemplary service. But I think that breakfast was the most disappointing. I had to queue for 30 minutes to get a table despite there being plenty of vacant tables that were waiting to be set. I have NEVER had to queue for a breakfast table before anywhere. EVER!!! When it arrived, the breakfast was of good quality although they couldn't have found a smaller sausage if they had tried. The room was clean and comfortable. The frontline staff were not to be blamed for this farce as they were trying their very best. The blame lies squarely with the management cutting corners by short-staffing. The huge delays at the bar almost certainly lost Macdonald hotels more than they scrimped. They have also lost a customer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Nice hotel but steep bar prices

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Overall it was quite nice, a little dated, but overall clean and tidy and did the job. I was however astounded that a large glass of Sauvignon cost £12, seemed extremely steep, more expensive that what I pay in good quality wine bars. Overall, nice, but overpriced for what you get
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Nice hotel, good breakfast

Posted Apr 11, 2015
This hotel is a little pricey, but then we did book last minute over Easter weekend. It is a lovely hotel and the staff were very helpful. We had afternoon tea there which was nice but not worth the £18 per person. The breakfast was very nice. A continental buffet as well as a hot cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

Husbands 50th birthday

Posted Feb 3, 2015
This hotel is nice and clean, the swimming pool and steam rooms are good too, the only thing I could fault is when we booked into the hotel we asked about evening meal but the resturant was fully booked ! We ended up at a little place only 5 miles away called cabbage hall pesto it was fab the taxi did charge £15 both ways though !!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

relaxing overnight stay

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The Spa.
Cons: internet in room, and room service
Location: nothing to report
We stayed here when going to a family party nearby. It was fine - nice room, bathroom spacious and clean, easy to get taxi to party in Tarplorley. Internet in room poor which was annoying as we couldnt get message to friends about taxi. Also, ordered a salad in room service which didnt come - no record of order. but when it did come when re-ordered was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ontario , Canada

Needed to attend a day long meeting

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Good restaurant and comfortable rooms . Do not golf so could not make use of the prime intent of the. hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Would never stay again!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Total refurbishment, a good scrub and updating!
The outside and grounds of this hotel are very deceiving! The initeror compared to the gorgeous grounds are run down, tired and dirty. There we're suspect stains in the bedding and mattress. Dust every where. Rust in the bathroom and dirty hand marks on the phone. It was also very dark in room with all the lights on and impossible to work in. Not worth the 4 star rating it has or the £92 we paid!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, hotel staff need to be more efficient

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Good hotel, clean and modern, but hotel staff need to be more pro-active in cleaning and serving, rather than looking busy!