Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
The bathroom stunk of urine which permiated into the bedroom, beds are old and need replacing, rooms at Premier Inn at £29 per night are far far superior to this hotel beds at £115 per night
2 out of 5
by Lars from Norge

Flott hotell, men dårlig standard og renhold.

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Vedlikeholdet på hotellet resulterte i at vi fikk bryllupssuiten, dette fordi nøkkellåsen ikke funket på rommet vi hadde fått. god service på personalet i resepsjonen. Dessverre var standarden på rommet skuffende, tydelige tegn på at renholdet ikke er gjort godt nok, på stoler og gulv. Restauranten leverer ikke opp til standarden Brasserie som det gir uttrykk for. Maten var god, desserten var god (råtne bær). Renholdet var av den karakter at det lå døde fluer på gulvet flere plasser. Da stiller man spørsmåltegn ved renholdet på dette hotellet. Langt fra Chester by, men fint landskap rundt hotellet.
3 out of 5
by DC from north yorks

great location, great service, scruffy room

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
stay was a present for one night ,so booked another night to make a short break . Hotel looked fantastic on web site and when we arrived in carpark. However room was in need of redecoration ,carpet needed replacing , bed was very small for a double, bathroom had mould around the bath and shower was very weak. had evening meals and breakfast and these were fine ,service was good but the hotel needs some money spent to bring it up to modern standards. location was good for visiting local attractions
3 out of 5
by Peter from Bowral, AU

Best days behind it.

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
Unfortunately the initial good impression from the car park is spoiled on entering the front door. What should have been an attractive "olde worlde" interior is tatty, worn and in serious need of refurbishment. The situation is not improved on entering the bedroom/bathroom. Worn and stained carpet, tatty un-appealing furniture and a general air of decay. The opportunity to provide characterful, attractive and upmarket "country house" accommodation has been lost for the want of funds being invested in a decent makeover with style and quality being the focus. The "brasserie" come breakfast room is totally un-appealing and the breakfast itself fairly basis and lacking quality. Not a hotel we would return to or recommend unless it is brought up to scratch.
1 out of 5
by Beth from Preston

Not what I would expect from a 4*hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at the wild boar on a Sunday evening after attending a friends wedding at a local venue. We booked the wild boar as we have stayed there previously in 2012. We arrived at the hotel late, we were shown to our room and told we could have the continental breakfast on room service the next morning, but not a full English. The room was freezing cold and in need of renovation. It felt like a 2* hotel at best, with stained carpets and grubby paintwork. The room just felt very dated. In the morning we did not get the continental breakfast on room service. We did go up to the restaurant and the staff were attentive and we helped ourselves to a buffet breakfast. I do not understand how this hotel can be classed as a 4* hotel- just one star off the best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels
Very Welcoming staff very friendly and helpful food and service was good. Rooms comfortable and very clean overall a very nice hotel .
3 out of 5
by G from Shropshire

2night stay

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
Used this hotel as a base for a relaxed break and visit to Chester (12 miles away). Hotel looks lovely, and is surrounded by rolling fields, a great setting. Check in was straight forward. Room was in a modern style (in newer part of building) and pretty basic, although clean an very comfortable bed. Bar & lounge area (older part if building) was very nice, with original features (pop up to the penthouse... Lovely wood carvings,etc) Evening meal was great, good quality, and service was excellent from the evening team. Breakfast was a different story, with less engaged staff, and the kitchen really struggled to keep the hot buffet filled, and a much lower quality of food on offer.
4 out of 5
by Mel Wales from Wales

Good Service

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 nights whilst on business. The hotel staff was very friendly and the service good. The rooms were warm and clean and the bed was comfy. The decor was a little tired but this did not detract from my stay. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. I would stay again if I am in the area
4 out of 5
by Murphy from Shropshire

nice character hotel, good location

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable, good sized rooms with wifi and freeview tv. Good hot breakfast. Good location for Chester/Cheshire. Quiet hotel.
4 out of 5
by Shell from Cambridgeshire

Last minute stay

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels
What a lovely hotel it's just outside Chester which is why we did not use it before but we will use it again could not fault anything although at our evening meal another guest hopped on the organ behind us so we could not talk through our meal but overall glad as regular visitors to Chester for family to have visited