Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napier, New Zealand

A room with a view.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We had a 2 night stay at Gables and found the proprietors very friendly and helpful. Our room was in excellent condition and a real pleasure to stay in.The view out over the lake was absolutely beautiful and the Coffee trailer across the road on the lake front was a welcome sight. Definitely a place I'd like to stay at again in future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

highly recommended

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Everything! Location Homemade biscuits
Cons: No
Location: Beautiful part of New Zealand.
We stayed 5 nights. I highly recommend Gables Lakefront Hotel in every way. The managers/Hosts were friendly and very informative. Very clean and well hotel serviced daily. Love the daily homemade biscuits and fruit. The best view of the lake and volcanoes. Awesome take away coffee and ice-cream trucks across the road. Walking distance to shopping strips, marina and fantastic restaurants. Jolly Good Fellows pub is just down the road and the Guinness pie is the best. Ate there 3 times. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bendigo

Beautiful view of lake

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location, space, view and hosts.
Location: Lake, hula falls and beehive
We were greeted by Peter who is extremely friendly and helpful. On checking us in he also gave us two maps and marked off things we might like to go see. He then showed us to our room. Room has a beautiful view of the lake with a table and chair out the front of our room to enjoy the view. Room had everything we could need including fresh apples and homemade biscuits. We would highly recommend staying here it was a shame we were only there for one night.
4 out of 5
by Edmund

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Excellent hotel, well equipped kitchen, on the beautiful​ shore of Taupo lake. Highest recommendation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Amazing Lakefront Views

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Views of Lake Taupo, to die for bed and bed linen. Immaculately clean. Peter the owner very friendly and welcoming.
Cons: We should have stayed longer
Location: Lake Taupo, Taupo shopping, De Bretts Hot Pools
Had the pleasure of staying at The Gables Lakefront Motel, the views were spectacular of the lake. Our room was exceptionally clean and extremely comfortable. You can tell that the owners of this motel put a lot of thought into the comfort and wellbeing for their guests, everything you need is in these units even down to home made cookies! Peter was a friendly, nothing is a problem host. Will definately stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Right on the Lakeside and handy to town

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The Service, the people, the location, the fantastic units
Cons: Not really
Location: Great walks around the Lake front , close to town and some good restaurants.
Only a one night stay, but excellent facilities, and excellent service and welcome. Special mention of Ella the Manager, who makes the stay special.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
A great place with a lovely, chatty Duty Manager. The homebaked cookies and the fresh, Hawkes Bay apples were a cosy, welcome treat. I am already rebooked for this motel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Gosford, NSW

Loved the homemade cookies

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Lovely owners made our stay a positive experience. Home made choc chip cookies and fresh fruit in the room. Across the road from the Lake. Quiet and clean and the hot tub was an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, australia

excellent overnight stay with toddler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
we had a great stay at the Gables. We felt really welcome on arrival. The house was clean, we were shown all around and the there were homemade cookies! we had a dip in the pool with our 2.5 year old who loved it and once she was down for the night, we sat down on the balcony for a glass of wine and overlooked the lake. very peaceful stay, would def recommend!