Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

100mb doesn't go far

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Not bad for the price. (I'm not much for the backpacker style though) "Free wifi" is only 100mb for the room so don't plan on surfing the web. We were planning our trip as we went and we're unable to find anything ahead of time due to this. We thought we were smart and went to a bar to eat thinking they would have wifi and ya no they charged for it! Apparently it's expencive to have wifi in this town. So just be aware before you go!
4 out of 5
by Qiquan

a quite stay at National park villege

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
a good and very nice place. Got there in a very heavy rain day, thus very quite place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Backpackers dream

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Wotif
Not for family stays, ideal for backpackers, bathrooms were spotless, unisexed, only 3 showers and 3 toilets, maybe can build some more
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic amenities not provided

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Orbitz
When running a hostel or hotel, I expect only 3 basic things... Hot shower, clean bed and heat in my room. However this place couldn't even do that correctly, the room was about 50 degrees, heater barely had any heat. When we asked other guests they complained about the same thing. When we went to ask the hotel front desk, he had to make a comment of how much higher do you want the heat. Also had to make the comment of what you want for the price I'm paying. Overall a pretty bad experience here and one of the worst places I've ever stayed. Many other options in the area, avoid here at all costs especially during the winter and early spring times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hostel near the ski fields

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Wotif
Found the guy working there was rude and unhelpful. Wouldn't recommend place based on his attitude.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy and convenient

Posted Feb 1, 2016
We needed a medium priced place for a quick overnight stay, rooms where clean and tidy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Howard's Lodge - Do not stay! Avoid at all costs!

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Do not stay at Howard's Lodge! They are a hostel charging hotel rates! They are a tourist trap! The hostel refused to honour the price booked online. They refuse to take payment upfront, and at checkout they charged my credit card double the price without authorisation. Service was terrible, the man who runs the hostel is extremely rude. He treated us with disrespect and tried to bully us into hiring items we didn't need at exorbitant prices. When we refused telling him we have everything we need for the mountain trek, he threatened, "I will search your bags, and if you don't have them, you're in trouble." The room is dreadful, so small you can't move around in it, the bunk beds are children-sized and there's stale smell in the room as if it is never aired out. The walls are so thin that you hear everything next door and upstairs. On their website they say they have free Tongariro Crossing Transport but it is a lie, it gets tacked on to the price. If you are a bit late from your mountain climb, he refuses to have the bus wait for you. One family was late coming down from the mountain, he was unwilling to wait even 5 mins, insisted on driving away so he could charge them the cost of two trips for the pickup instead of one. Their “free wi-fi” claim is deceptive. Only 200MB is free and then you must pay to use the wi-fi. My biggest mistake was not reading all the other reviews posted about this place before I booked. Do your research and avoid Howard's Lodge at all costs!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Grant, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Your dispute over the prices is quite simple. You booked for room only but when you checked in you requested to upgrade to our package option which includes 2 breakfasts, a packed lunch and return transport for the Crossing (as well as the room) for each person (3 in your case). The additional costs associated with upgrading to the package were confirmed several times during this conversation and throughout your stay. I am sorry to hear that you feel that the package option did not provide good value as we strive to ensure all of our options offer this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff. Very neat. We like it.

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Wotif
We stayed for one night, and used the kitchen. Everything is neat. We like it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings

It's very clean but very unpersonal

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Wotif
Nice enough people but you feel they are sick from tourists.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2015 by Grant, Hotel Management
Sick of tourists, never ! It's what we do so sorry we were perhaps having an off day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for snow holiday

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Wotif
All we needed to enjoy our time at the ski fields. Lovely and warm, great lounge with pool table for kids. Clean kitchen with all the equipment you need to prepare your meals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2015 by Grant, Hotel Management
We do like to keep things clean and thank you for noticing. The snow is now gone but plenty to entetain in the summer months so hope we see you again