Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
A great location for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wanganui

Good hotel, very basic. No towel rail or hangers.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Fire was nice in the dining room. Heater very good in the room.
Had a beautiful view of the mountains in the morning.
2 out of 5
by thelma

Dark and depressing!

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Awful room - dark, black and shabby. Nowhere to sit to watch TV and only a tiny washbasin in bathroom. Uncarpeted stairs meant a lot of noise when next door neighbours used them. No lamps, drawers or mirror in bedroom and electric kettle had to be used on the floor as no suitable socket where it was kept.Overall an extremely dark and depressing stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location, price and staff.
Cons: Get a chef with skills beyond the deep fryer and grill. Made mistake of ordering gourmet lamb sausages. They were boiled and raw in middle
Easy to find and friendly staff. With trip to do Tongariro Alpine Crossing, staff can everything we needed in form of food, transport etc. Room was small. The bathroom/toilet was the smallest I have ever experienced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Peter

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel met our requirements for a 3 night stay while breaking our Wellington to Auckland journey on the Northern Explorer train. The hotel is suitable for both backpackers and 'those of more mature years', like ourselves. The self-catering facilities are good and the hot tubs a welcome bonus. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our stay - despite the 'iffy' weather.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wellngton

Weekend stay to walk Tongariro crossing

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Wotif
Bathroom a joke .. sink not adequate Poor light and expensive for quality of room Staff good and also food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Rooms are tired and needs a refurb.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Wotif
No full Breakfast for vegetarians and expensive. The rooms need a makeover as many items broken. Generally very clean though. Got the feeling manageress thought I should be grateful for what we got. Generally I believe it is slightly less than value for money as the whole area is exploiting the market for fantastic views of the national park
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lord of the Rings Hike

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Location and food
Cons: More helpful at the front check in. Parking and gravel lot made it difficult to take luggage to room
Location: Close to the national park for hiking and sightseeing
Location was great. Front desk staff was not knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Rooms were ok. Dining was excellent. Best gluten free pizza. Nice common areas. There were 2 hot tubs, but we were not able to use them as they close early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: very nice staff, restaurant, spa pool
Location: walks
good advice about walking, and comfortable stay. To Booking.com this review request is annoying - I won't do it again if it expects a minimum number of words before I can complete it.