Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
Top floor room was to hot on a mildish day. Room wasn't made up until complained about at 5.30pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Excellent motel, would recommend

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Spotless and all facilities in excellent condition. Large room. TV visible from spa bath - great for rugby World Cup viewing! Easy walking distance to town and waterfront. Excellent value for money. Would definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Room.

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely motel but we were unfortunate to stay when there was a children's soccer group there so a noisy time. Also we were disturbed by a visitor knocking on our door late at night. Not sure if we will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Locality and friendly atmosphere
Location: Adventure Sporting mecca plus cafes/ restaurants and my wife finds the shopping is quite good and competitively priced, especially clothing etc.
Whole experience good especially help received at check in which was friendly and informative
4 out of 5
by Martina from Tauranga

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, children love the bath
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NZ

Awesome hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Wotif
Great hotel with lovely staff. Close to the city centre and all other attractions in the area. Great comfy bed and awesome spa bath. Only thing that was missing was the limited TV channels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Close to city centre.

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Wotif
Warm cosy clean and convenient. Last minute booking turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Comfy bed, quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great stay, nice and close to town and very clean.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: heated floors and spacious
Cons: shower head and pressure could be improved and supplying coffee and tea without milk seemed odd. Bed was average.
Location: race track and lake lol
great room, clean and tidy and within easy walking distance to town. Heated floors and room was warm upon arrival which made choosing this place a win win. Great people and friendly, asked for a later checkout (not needed in the end ) but was accommodated all the same with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Te Puke

Great spot.

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient location and lovely clean rooms which were warm and cosy.
Location: Great cafes and restaurants nearby
Had a lovely weekend here. Walking distance to shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfort
Cons: I did feel that because I had booked through Wotif that I wasn't quite as welcome as I might have been but that could have been my state of mind.
Location: Close enough to walk to town centre but transport required to get to other Taupo attractions.
I have stayed at Alpine Lake previously and was pleased to see they had a room available for an overnight stay en route to Wellington from Tauranga after a stressful couple of days. The proximity to the shopping centre allowed me a much needed walk to buy something to eat and the comfortable room and facilities allowed me a good night's sleep before continuing the trip home.