Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Whilst our unit was clean, it was very old and dated. The floorboards were horrendously creaky which of course made it a very noisy place to stay. The woman on reception was helpful and sorted out an issue where Expedia had overcharged us. Not the motels fault, but if you do book with Expedia then check your payments. Wouldn’t stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely to be right next to the lake front.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Spacious. Bath,
Cons: Quality of beds.
Location: Just stayed over night.
Bed was a little uncomfortable. Sore back the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Motel was great

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: maybe a bigger grass/park area
Motel was great, beds were comfortable, room was great, pool was good, all the facilities were great, 30 sec walk to lake front, 2 min drive to town. Staff were very friendly, used kayaks, bbq, pool, washing machine and very helpful planning other activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tauranga nz

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Easy to find.close to town. Quiet and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raumati South

Nice motel

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: warm pool
Cons: Water pressure in shower
Location: Great location
Good accommodation Quiet Motel Friendly owners Easy check in and out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great management and staff.

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Manager was very accommodating, friendly and professional. We are happy with our stay. Thank you for making it pleasant 😀
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Loved the location

Posted Nov 30, 2017
The location was perfect and duplex was clean. It was a little “tired”. Sinks had chips. Carpet a little worn but clean. The owners were great. I would come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Owner, Hotel Management
Glad you liked our location Katie!
4 out of 5
by Alan

Nice room - terrible check in experience

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room was great once we got what we had booked but terrible service at check in. Arrived at 2.00 to be asked to wait 40 minutes because room was not ready. Went back to find we had been given a downstairs room rather than the upstairs with balcony and lake view we had ordered. Eventually got what we had booked but only after being told we hadn't paid enough for that room and the cleaners would have to work overtime. No apologies just wanted us to see it from her point of view. Eventually able to check in at 4.30. Room was great after that and exactly as we had expected as we had been there a year earlier
4 out of 5
by oliver

Over all good

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Internet was slow
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Good price, Ok stay in Taupo

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Right next to the Lake (although limited view)
Cons: bugs on the bed and in the bathroom (probably due to the room door open for most of the day)
Location: Lake Taupo, Huka Fall
I picked this motel for one thing, price. It's a very good price compare to most other hotels in Taupo (the town seems to be expensive, I guess due to its tourist nature). You do get a limited lake view, and it's a few minute drive from the town center. One thing I didn't like was finding bugs / spider on the bed, in the kitchen, and in the bathroom. Although NZ has no poisonous creatures, but it's still a turn off to see bugs in the room, especially on your bed. If I am to visit Taupo again in the future, I will probably stay at another place.