Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Stay out of it!!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!
Location: Google is your friend!
Horrible place to stay! Please avoid this place at any cost. My folly that I did not check google reviews on this property before booking, which stands at 2.3 out of 10!! It is neither a chateau of 5 star as they fraudulently advertise! Owner or the manager guy is a modern day Shylock! I stayed in the mid winter just few days ago and suddenly awoke around 3am to see that the central heating is switched off. And the thermometer recorded 13c temp inside a so called 5 star 'Chateau' in the mid winter!! You cannot switch on the heating again and I spent the rest of the night shivering! Cooking is not allowed even no microwave to heat a pie. All you get is a 50ml tiny milk packet inside the fridge. And he had charged extra $10 from my credit card after I checked out and upon query he said that I had taken the body wash away with me! It was a tiny 5ml plastic vial, even not enough for one shower! He wouldn't answer the phone or texts so I had real hard time getting the money back!! My humble advice is, sleep on a bench near the lake if you cannot find any place in Taupo rather than staying in this den!
5 out of 5
by Helen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

A Lil bit different

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for money, large quarters, clean and modern and just a few minutes from the township by car. Their is no reception as such and when you arrive your left wondering what to do next eventually a guy comes out with a clip board to sort you out. Don't bother trying to contact by phone because no one answers. (Drive into the driveway upon arrival apparently it trips a sensor and tells him your there) Towels are starting to show their age a bit.
5 out of 5
by Helen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No staff to meet us on arrival

Posted Jun 26, 2017
There were no staff to check us in. We had to phone from an international mobile to ask about check-in. They had mixed up our booking and told us they were fully booked. Then they realised they had the name wrong and we were booked in. Told us there was a key in the letter box to use to open up. This phone call was very lengthy and cost a fortune. The place was freezing when we got in and took a long time to heat up. Overall check-in and check-out were terrible. Very disappointed couple on our honeymoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and staff. clean and quiet room.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
nice hotel and staff. clean and quiet room. good location to downtown.
5 out of 5
by Mary

High standard in quiet location

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
4th stay at this property. Always of a high standard. Quiet home away from home. Quality bed linen and furnishings.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay Here, more like "Fawlty Chateau"

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The Wifi
Cons: Everything as the whole experience has been a disaster and I am sorry visitors to Taupo may be exposed to this.
Location: Taupo is a great place to visit and we have on many occasions stayed previously and will do again however not at the Falls Chateau.
Made the booking on the understanding that the payment would be on the day of the stay and cancellation prior to the stay was no problem. It was all downhill from there. We needed to add another adult to the booking and that we would be arriving late which was difficult due to not being able to contact them on any phone and the promise of returning calls within 3 minutes was a joke. Email seems to be the only way they communicate and even this is always slow. We finally got the extra person sorted on a fold out bed. On arrival the "Taupo Luxury Lodge" aka Falls Chateau is a large house subdivided into separate areas and the fold out bed was a foam folding couch. The lounge couch was the only other option offered. We put it down to experience. On checking our credit card statements some time later we noticed that they had charged us on the day the booking was made and also charged us again for the new total including the extra charge for the extra person. Again contacting them is a nightmare and maybe they believe that if you delay long enough we may just give up. We are not going away and warn anyone wanting to stay in Taupo, try somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice views and lovely room

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Great location and comfortable room. Lovely views from the room and a great amount of space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and local

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Such a nice place to stay and very close to town and local view points.