Ratings based on 2,545 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Cons: The hotel staff.
Check in was terrible. It was 1:30pm and we were told that our room was not ready but that it would be in 10 mins. They took our details and said they would call. Ninety minutes later still had not heard anything, so went back to check in and asked if room was ready. A new receptionist was unaware that we had checked in and that we were waiting. There was no hand soap in the bathroom and we had to find housekeeping to ask for soap. The coffee at breakfast had run out and went to get more and it was stone cold. Room service was average, and the room was very cold. It was disappointing to have a junior suite but not have any view. There was no offer with any help with bags. We expected a better experience for a five star hotel, this was not delivered to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth, NZ

Great Stay!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Location: Taupo is a lovely place, plenty to do and see, easy to get around and hotel was just out of town so nice and quiet without being too far to drive.
The staff were friendly and the hotel was lovely, beautiful, clean, relaxing etc. Impressed at the level of care taken at check in, offers to assist with luggage, call from restaurant staff to check room service meal was ok. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, nice hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: buffet breakfast, gym, pool. Spacious room and bathroom
Cons: Parking- all car park should be free and safe.
Location: Taupo shops and restaurants are about 7mins drive from the hotel. So handy to have a car.
Enjoyed my stay, spacious room and huge bathroom with bath and separate shower. Got a good deal with breakfast. Buffet breakfast was just wonderful, good selection of cereal, pastries and hot food. Had 3 choices to be cooked on order eg, pancake, omelette. Buffett system was explained thoroughly upon arriving the restat=urant. attentive staff. the only downside was parking, long was to carry luggage to the room. very few parking in front of the hotel, there was paid parking in the basement otherwise by the roadside on gravel patch down the hill from the hotel. Didn't feel safe leaving my car there overnight. There were too many doors to get through to get through to the room, can be tricky with you have too many bags, or if its too big.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Top Hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Modern room facilities but with some "heritage" common areas.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Location is good but only if you have a car. It is a bit far out of town for anything else.
We were greeted in friendly manner and shown to a very high quality room on the ground floor. Excellent patio and lovely view. We would like to stay longer next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamilton

Really nice hotel, good quiet location, romantic

Posted May 25, 2017
Hilton always clean, cozy and Amazing resto, superb breakfast included. Since it was pretty cold when I stayed there, i wished: 1. Pool and spa are indoors or can be enclosed for winter or night swimming 2. Indoor path to restaurant
5 out of 5
by Malcolm

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the De Bretts Thermal pools (walking distance) which I was familiar with. However what did surprise me was the size of the rooms along with the beautiful vista that greeted me in the morning. The attached restaurant also delivered a Value for money delightful meal. All in all a lovely stop..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017 on Wotif
Great staff, great food, Suite was perfect, totally satisfied :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017 on Wotif
always great place to stay with friendly, efficient staff, good balcony and comfortable rooms. Restaurant excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very pleasant with a lake view.

Posted May 9, 2017 on Wotif
We were upgraded to a lake view room with terrace, and the view was panoramic. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very good. My only complaint would be very soft pillows. I have a firm foam pillow and hotels just seem to provide super soft ones. There may have been a pillow request available but I didn't notice it. So I didn't get a great sleep. Aside from that it was very good. The staff were professional and the breakfasts were superb. We also used the gym, pool and spa which we enjoyed. The spa could have been warmer but there was a sign saying there was a maintenance issue and it would be fixed. Overall, a very nice hotel especially if you have a view of the lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Nice hotel, we only stayed one night, not in town so a bit of a walk/drive but up on the hill so great views.