Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very pleasant accommodation

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We had three nights here and were made to feel welcome by Robert. He cooked us a nice breakfast and offered us a glass of wine each evening which was a lovely gesture. Our room was large and well furnished, we appreciated the cotton sheets. Robert gave us guidance as to where to visit in the locality. There is a small shared fridge and communal tea and coffee facilities for visitors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thabnk you for taking time to write your review. As always very much appreciated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rotorua NZ

Beautiful location in a quiet rural setting

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The private location away from the main hussle and traffic yet close to Taupo and wounderful restaurants.
A beautiful spot to rest after a great concert in Taupo with wonderful hospitality to match from Rob and Gail. Nesttled in park like grounds with an amazing outdoor area to relax and chat over a wine or two with the hosts and other guests staying. The oppurtunity to soak in a discretly placed outdoor spa under the stars if so wished added to the luxury. A beautifully furnished spacious room and onsuite to match.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great feedback we appreciate it very much. We have moved the spa pool to offer more privacy for those using it and are please with the result. You are so right - it is indeed amazing to be able to soak under the stars on a clae night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt, Germany

Superb !

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The quiet and beautiful environment, stunning views, fantastic garden. Perfect rooms and comfort.
Cons: Nothing I can think of ...
Location: Taupo is close and offers a variety of activity in the lake, the thermal areas, hiking, ... We recommend to stay minimum 2 days to explore / enjoy.
We arrived to a perfect location, situated above Taupo with spectacular views and a fantastic garden .... The hosts are fabulous, they really made us feel welcome. We enjoyed every minute there. We could even stay for dinner, and can really recommend this. We have travelled the South and North Island and this place is certainly one of the absolute highlights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you Ladies for your lovely review. We try really hard to make every guest's stay exceed their expectations. We enjoyed your company over dinner and are glad you enjoyed it too. Many thanks Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Wonderful attention to detail

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The facility was well appointed and the owners are warm, friendly and talented hoteliers. I'm taking some design lessons from their layout.
Cons: No negatives really , up high on the hill away from the town center.
Location: A short drive up the hill from Taupo. Nice grounds and very peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and sorry for the delay in responding. We've just been to the South Island for a break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Wotif
Quiet, well appointed, hospitable hosts, a lovely experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate it as always as it tells future guests what they might expect if they book to stay with us. We are fortunate that we are in a quiet rural area without any traffic of other noise, and yet only being a short drive into town. Many thanks Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Fabulous Taupo Luxury

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Wotif
We had a wonderful relaxing time. Best B&B we've ever been to
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Many thanks Adrian for your comments. We are pleased you consider us to be the best B&B you have been to and hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are in Taupo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whakatane

TOP PLACE TO STAY WHEN IN TAUPO

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Wotif
Absolutely amazing nights stay! wonderful hosts and a fantastic property! and just five minutes from town! Never will I stay in downtown taupo again! this place is amazing! quiet peaceful and relaxing with wonderful hosts and yummy food..... VERY HIGHLY RECOMENDED
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Gail , Hotel Management
Thank you Phil & Sam for such a fantastic review. We are so please that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you would be happy to recommend us. We would welcome to to come and stay with us any time that you are in Taupo. Kind regards Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Exquisite B&B

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Wotif
Beautiful house in a quiet but very accessible area near Taupo. The hosts are just wonderful and take the best care of you. We received tea and biscuits after arrival. Beds are extremely comfortable, rooms newly renovated, modern and luxurious. Breakfast was also very yummy. We'd come back any time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you Silvia for your great review of your recent stay with us. We always appreciate feedback and use it as one way of ensuring that we are maintaining our high standards. We do hope you will come back and stay again. Many thanks Gail & Robert
4 out of 5
by Raewyn from Tauranga

Peaceful luxury B & B

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable. Lovely B & B in peaceful rural setting but approx 10 km to Taupo lakefront. The outside spa pool is great for relaxation. Hosts Gail and Robert were very friendly and helpful. Loved the sumptuous breakfasts. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Raewyn for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay again. It sounds like the distance from town was a negative for you. We do clearly advertise that we are rural and out of town. It is a less that 10 minute drive and 10 kms to Taupo CBD. We encourage future guests to read all the property information prior to making a booking. We are also very happy to offer guests a lift into town for dinner. Most of the restaurants will happily call you a taxi to bring you back to Kauri Point. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Kauri Point, regards Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home fromhome

Posted Aug 26, 2016
If you are looking for some time to escape then this is the place to go Everything about this place lived up to its five star rating - we will be going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us and thank you for your very positive comments. We look forward to your next stay - try and come in the summer and benefit from the huge outside deck spaces, BBQ and pizza oven! Thank you once again, Gail & Robert