Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taupo

Nice hotel superb location

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Comfortable and clean... what a relief after a busy week end. Superb breakfast😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Second time staying at Lakeland Resort. Helpful abd friendly staff. Great location. Only the bed I have got is a bit old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North, NZ

Nice resort on main drag into Taupo

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Pretty well appointed room with good bathroom. Was also great to have a good sized TV on the wall. Staff were also helpful on check-in and exit.
Cons: Maybe some more sound proofing or reminders for guests to be mindful of other guests staying in the resort.
Location: The resort is on the edge of the main drag into town, but fine to get around as we had a car. Enjoyed Acacia Bay, Huka Falls and shopping in town.
Staff were very friendly at check-in. The room contained three single beds (but booking said twin?) and a nice big bathroom. Also helped to have a large TV on the wall with SKY, as the day we arrived was a shocker weather wise and we couldn't do anything outside. Unfortunately we didn't get to sleep until about 2.30am on the first night as the guests above us and next to us were very noisy (part of a wedding party?). The next day was nice and we enjoyed being out and about in Taupo and also used the resort facilities such as the pool. Whilst the resort is on the edge of the main drag into town, it was no problem as we had a car We saw that some of the same guests who caused us grief the first night were staying the next night, so we decided to check out early and return home. So the resort got a night out of us that we didn't stay there!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Location good

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Location and Restaurant but as I've said above I was very disappointed when told Restaurant was not open for dinner that night,very poor really
Cons: Spend some money and upgrade the whole place,we used to frequent the restaurant years ago, it didn't look any different
Location: Location is good
I was very disappointed with the room I had, it was dusty and had cobwebs round the window catches.The bathroom was very clean, but living area seemed as though it had not been cleaned properly for sometime,there was no microwave or plates to use.I think the place needs some money spent on upgrading the rooms and install a heating and cooling system as room was very hot over night.It was disappointing that the restaurant was not open for dinner on New Year's Day,that was part of my reason for staying. I will not recommend this place to friends,and I will not stay there again,such a shame as reception staff were delightful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
This hotel did have some positives. Nice pool and friendly staff. However when we arrived they were in the process of replacing a broken toilet seat in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
We have been to Lakeland Resort a few times now and it is always a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

One night stop over

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Have stayed here 3 times 0ver the last 12 years, has had a make over but could still be better, bed could be better! Not bad have stayed in worse places that cost lots more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great pool

Posted Dec 17, 2017
The room itself is very basic... with not even a corkscrew... but it was really comfortable and the pool was awesome. Lovely helpful staff. The restaurant menu needs a bit updating, but it's a lovely setting so could be awesome with using more fresh ingredients. The rooms are set away from road are really quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Clean and comfortable but noisey

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff comfortable bed and clean
Cons: Needs microwave and toaster,
Location: Bit far out of town
Staff friendly and helpful,room clean and comfortable but noise from adjoining rooms disturbed sleep,could hear conversations,showers running toilets being used and overflow pipes dripping outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Perfect hotel to stay in taupo.nice view. Very clean . Quiet place.