Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic place to stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We had a wonderful time in Lake Taupo. Tauhara Sunrise Lodge is set in a great location with amazing views of the lake. Accommodation was deserving of its 5 star rating and Danny and Elena were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Nice and relaxing
My partner and baby had a very nice stay. It was a well deserved rest for my partner.
5 out of 5
by Amit

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic place to stay in Taupo. Incredible views of the lake. Very peaceful setting. Amazing hosts who make you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay of Plenty

Hidden Gem

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Excellent views - friendly and helpful host - Great little hideaway
5 out of 5
by SEBASTIAN from ft lauderdale

Close to Heaven

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Becky was the perfect host and this B&B was the best we experienced on this trip and others as well. You are welcomed and hosted like Family. Beautiful home and setting and great breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Gorgeous views and lovely hosts

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, serene, and comfy with great views and close proximity to Taupo.
Location: Taupo is about a ten minute drive away. You can swim, hop on a boat, go fishing, shop, or just sit with a coffee and people-watch. A great spot!
Perched on the hill, this spot has a great view of Lake Taupo. The bed was comfy. The shower and bathroom area was open and roomy. The area upstairs on the patio for sitting and reading was lovely, and allowed us to relax after a long day of activities. It felt indulgent. But the best part of this spot is the hosts. Open, friendly, warm, and inviting, they can offer you all kinds of advice about where to eat or how to enjoy spots in the area. And our breakfasts were delicious! I would come back here again in a heartbeat. One night was not enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Very friendly
Becky was a great host and very personable. Spectacular views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice place, nice views, but overpriced

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Cons: Think that this is too pricey for what you get relative to other B&Bs
No doubt about the overall facilities and view, however, felt let down on what we thought an excessive charge for something that provided just the normal facilities and amenities that we expected from a B&B. Missing the warm welcome and departure send-off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Awesome experience! Lovely friendly welcome, great facilities and fabulous breakfasts!
5 out of 5
by Liz from Harpenden, UK

Luxury on lovely Lake Taupo

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful welcome to this superb luxury B&B started with happy hour drinks and nibbles on the terrace overlooking Lake Taupo hosted by Becky & Rob the owners. Our 'room' was actually a self contained lodge in the garden with total privacy, views out to the lake, a huge whirlpool bath, his n hers showers, and a fantastic kingsize bed which was the most comfortable bed of our NZ tour. Highly recommended. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very much at home and thoroughly spoilt! Thank you.