Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to CBD

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The spa bath was good until it cut out. Must be on a timer
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to CBD
The room needs updating, apparently this is to be done next year. The TV didn't work properly. When I sat on the dining chair screws fell out. They definitely need new cleaners, there was caked on dust on the chairs and the floor around the edge of the bathroom needed a good scrub..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Welcoming and friendly accommodation

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: I liked the easy going nature it had and the friendly staff
Location: The location was close to the main shops and restaurants in Tauranga, which was great. It also has easy access to Mt Maunganui and also main highways
Our stay at Durham Motor Inn was excellent. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and friendly at all times we interacted. The location is great and all facilities are provided within the rooms. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy walk to shops & eateries

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Convenience to shops & restaurants
Cons: Firstly the bed, might pay to look at updating the features of the room. The bathroom would be next.
Location: Easy distance to shops & restaurants.
The motel was chosen for its location to shops & restaurants as we could walk to them. While staff were great, the room is tired. The bed needs replacing along with overall updating of the room.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Tidy suitably priced Motel handy to downtown Tauranga and access to the Mount. Staff were pleasant to deal with (Relief Manager) and quite location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place in the middle of town

Posted May 29, 2017 on Wotif
Very friendly accommodating couple. Neil and his wife. Nice, peaceful and clean place. Price reasonable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to city centre

Posted May 7, 2017 on Wotif
spa was not very clean & all hot water tapes where dripping. door mate was ripping off from corner. we did inform this to the reception. was easy to find and near to city centre. friendly reception staff. Thanks!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tardy Rooms, Rude Manager

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Wotif
Cons: Learn how to meet and greet people. If you can't manage the basics, maybe hospitality is the wrong trade for you. Clean all areas including out back.
We were greeted to a terse and somewhat arrogant Manager of the Motel. His tone is very gruff and he is obviously under pressure in just checking people in/out. The room was average, but certainly not worth the rate paid. The toilet light didn't work, the bathroom fan would wake people a block away and outside the back of our room were nappies that had been thrown out the window - that had been there so long they were mouldy. Would never recommend and will never be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location - walkable to all.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Smooth check in. TV's could do with upgrading. Room comfortable and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whakatane

Handy to everything.

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Wotif
Town, restaurants in walking distance. Spa bath in spa room didn't have ON switch so couldn't use jets but good bath for bubble bath. Could use new wider curtains to black out daylight/night lights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Basic and comfortable

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Location: Sort of edge of Downtown, so quiete enough. All eatery places are within walking distance. Easy access to everything.
Rooms are quite basic, but clean and comfortable enough to stay. We were very happy.