Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Far North, NZ

Visiting Tauranga for work

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I always choose to stay in this hotel when visiting Tauranga. It's situation makes Central Tauranga accessible by foot. The hotel has a bar, dining room and swimming pool. The dark wood panels and stained glass give it a unique charm. The hotel could do with some TLC but it continues to be my first choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taranaki

Great location.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We were 3 people staying in a room. There were only 2 towels, mugs etc. We requested the extra towel and mugs which were provided promptly. The free Internet didn't work and there was no remote for the heat pump. I didnt bother to request help on this matter. On day two the bath mat was removed with the dirty towels but no replacement was provided. Was a clean and tidy room but lacked a bit in service and provisions. All in all an OK stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over priced but comfortable

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Close location to city but not worth the $180 a night considering room facilities and decor. Very tired and dated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016
We stayed two nights, each time in a different room. The mattresses lacked support. One rolled toward the centre of the bed. The blanket on the single bed was stained.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Time for an up grade.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Building and furnishings..
Location: Situated close to city centre and faculties.
This hotel is overdue for an upgrade. Building and furnishings are aged and dated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only good thing was the price.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Only the price. There was one concierge who was nice also.
Cons: The breakfast was horrible and expensive! The room and hotel are VERY dated and not in a quaint way. The staff, with the exception of one concierge, were rude and disrespectful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

A good comfortable place to stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: at a conference
Enjoyed the stay only disappointment was received the wrong breakfast on the second day and the cost of room service was very high
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Far North NZ

First choice on Tauranga trips

Posted Sep 16, 2016
This is my usual place to stay when in Tauranga. I like the general feel of this hotel and will continue to book there as my first choice when visiting Tauranga
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great hotel, friendly staff

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Was a great quick 1 night business stay. The free wifi was a great addition. The staff were friendly and quick with everything they did. The only things that would add alot of value would be to upgrade the bathrooms a little at some point (mainly the mirror of my room 221 looked quite damaged i think) and the pillows- even just one thicker pillow would have been perfect, specialy when i paid the same rates as some of the top 10 hotels in Auckland. It was an 8/10 stay for me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and overpriced

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The room was long overdue an upgrade. The bathroom mirror was so tarnished it looked gross. The water pressure was too low. The whole bathroom needed a repaint and the central heating pipes needed cleaning. In addition the room was noisy due to the stairs next door.