Ratings based on 710 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Close to waterfront, cinemas, restaurants and bars. Helpful staff and nice complimentary glass of wine on arrival to room. Great heating and fresh air fans. Tidy layout of rooms and nice touch of makeup flannel in bathroom. Be careful though - if going out in TGA at night, you can't find any late night snacks. We had to raid the minibars in our rooms....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whakatane

Beautiful hotel definately recommend it to anyone

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great location, beautiful hotel, will definately stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Disappointed...

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Suite was clean but fabric couches in lounge area were stained & visibly dirty, turned cushions over but just as bad so covered with a sarong so could feel comfortable sitting on. Also, wanted to use bed spread in closet for extra warmth, put on bed but removed again as was visibly dirty & stained, and had many hairs from a previous guest all over it. Clearly hadn't been washed or checked after last use. Was late so ended up sleeping in a hoodie and socks to keep warm. Rest of suite (kitchen area and bathroom) were very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Excellence personified. Great stay.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: All the above and more.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Righ tin the city ....2 mins to everywhere.
Reception girls always happy and smiling and couldn't do enough for me. Bed yummy and soft so easy to sleep. Shower hard pressure which I love. TV got all Sky channels which is so rare these days and a definite plus !! So all in all why would anyone stay anywhere else in Tauranga .... just book at the Devonport and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckl;and

nice hotel close to town bars and restaurants.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: close to everything. Great facility
Cons: nithing
Location: lots to do. great location
We had a wonderful time in tauranga. the hotel was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton New Zealand

Nice and close to town and the beach

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay the service was great really welcoming the bed was so comfortable and our room was tidy and clean we would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Indifferent hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The parking was convenient
Location: There is a Italian restaurant a couple of doors down from the hotel that was very nice.
The room itself was pleasant but the water for the shower in the morning was cold. The reception staff when told just said the "yes the owner knew about it and was going to do something about it" no apologies, this did not help us at all. The $7 charge for milk we used for our tea/coffees as well as the cold shower does not encourage us to recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Hotel on Devonport, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. There was an unexpected problem with our hot water on the morning of your stay and although this was rectified quite quickly we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience this caused. Please be assured we do not charge for milk, all our rooms are supplied fresh milk on a complimentary basis. If there is any charge on you account you would like to clarify please feel free to contact the hotel directly. Many thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coromandel

Convenient

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: More than adequate
Location: As above, close to shops, restaurants etc
Hotel on Devonport is situated right in the city, so very convenient if going to theatre or an event in the vicinity. Also great if on a "shopping spree" Lovely shops in the same street. Handy to good food!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apartment feel. Clean comfi bed.

Posted May 7, 2017
Room ready on arrival. Free glass of wine, newspaper. Apples for hotel guests in reception. Had apartment feel to it. Paid $10. For parking. Rv seemed alittle far away. But otherwise a comfi stay. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

A great place for all!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Everything~
Location: Shops, restaurants, beach
Nice, tidy, friendly staff. Close to the beach and shops but quiet as well. On arrival, they also offered complimentary drinks and snacks- which was great because we had a senior family member and a young child traveled with us. We were able to leave our car in their locked up secured car park after check out too.