Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Just went up on an overnight. The people where very nice and the place was nice. The pool was not working but went in the hot tub.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, affordable and close to attractions.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We were looking for something affordable for an overnight stay near the state park's beach and Tawas's downtown, and this hit the spot. The staff was polite and check-in went smooth. This hotel isn't huge(maybe about 40 rooms?), so it didn't seem overly busy. Our stay was on a Sunday night and it was during summer vacation. The room was quite adequate with all the expected amenities in its price range. Most importantly, it was very clean. And, I will even venture to stay that the bathroom was spotless. The continental breakfast was also just fine for the price-point, and the staff kept the items stocked and refreshed. Yes, I could complain that the toilet lever was finicky, the pool was a little cold, etc... but the important things were there and we had a great time overall. We would stay there again and would also suggest it to a friend who may be on a modest budget and that's not overly picky.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belleville,MI

Good getaway!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: It was a good deal that met our needs. Day lobby staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Better breakfast- adding eggs, whole wheat bread, fruit. Also having already made oatmeal would be good too.
Location: Close to Lake Huron and town to sight see.
Clean room, close to the beach The room was clean and roomy. The pool and spa was relaxing. Breakfast was fair. We stayed for 2 nights. Overall it was a very nice get away. We would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Well the first room had dirty pillow cases, the coffee maker in the room still had coffee in it from the people before me. The second room was about the same stain on the carpet dirty sheets dead bugs in the light fixture in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Wedding

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Clean. Offered indoor pool and breakfast.
Cons: It would be nice if the breakfast included yogurt.
Location: Beach and town shopping.
Good experience. No problems. The room was spacious with Queen beds and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2016 on Orbitz
The room was clean and quiet . The staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad that your were happy with your stay with us in Tawas. I will pass your kind words on to the staff. Everyone enjoys an "ataboy"! Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Commerce, MI

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Cons: Breakfast items were cold and mediocre at best.
Location: Good location.
Clean, and in a good location. We stayed there off season, in March, so it was nice and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will let our housekeepers know that their work was appreciated. I am sorry that the breakfast bar items were cold. I will see that our foods (eggs, sausage, hash brown, biscuits and gravy) are put out hot and remain hot throughout our breakfast period.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saginaw, Mi

Ok Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Orbitz
For a one night stay, our accommodations were fine. Nothing over the top. Room was much nicer than I expected. The breakfast was standard foods, again nothing exceptional. There are not many "really nice" hotels/motels in the Tawas area. This property was very adequate and meet our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am happy that you were please with your stay and that your room exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Winter getaway

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Comfortable did not want my child to touch the carpet kind of pricey for the hotel and the breakfast was stale was happy to get away for the weekend. Don't stay in the room by the door because you can hear the door opening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some good, some bad

Posted Dec 30, 2015
We stayed 3nights. The good: decent size rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are so-so but decent. Staff is courteous and helpful. The bad: can I say Continental disaster? There was a very limited selection and don't expect to find any fruit. The restocking was non-exist not so those showing up after 8:30 don't expect to get bacon or fresh, er, eggs. The coffee, the holy grail of breakfast, was very inconsistent at best. On the bright side the seating area is very nice. The hot tub was anything but hot "we're working on it". And as a surprise send off the overnight snow storm was being addressed by a total amateur who thought it would be fun to run a bunch of ruts without clearing an actual parking lot.