Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herndon, VA

When in heaven, don't leave

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Location was literally the middle of nowhere, which was wonderful. Totally disconnected but treated so well and spoiled by the staff. The room was delightful, bathroom was comfortable, parking, wifi, food and drinks were perfect. Staff was adorable. We couldn't be happier and we will come back. Many more times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent hotel all round.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Location,staff,food, everything really.
Cons: N/A
Location: Ben Nevis, Fortr William, Loch Ness and Lomond, pretty central for all beautiful scenery and attractions.
Just stayed for 2 nights. Fantastic place,service and food. Location is superb. Thanks to all staff for a super break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

Friendly, welcoming and full of character

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We called to let them know that we would be arriving late. They took our dinner order on the phone so we would not miss the restaurant. We were met at the door and helped to our very comfortable room. We had been given a free upgrade. The staff were attentive, polite and helpful. Our room was fabulous. The hotel and grounds were gorgeous. It wasn't cheap but it was a memorable experience. We hope to go back sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Friendly, quirky hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds - ancient trees, remote feel.
Fantastic location on Loch Awe. Could easily have spent two or three nights there exploring the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: We were very happy with everything
Cons: I wouldn't change anything The drive to the hotel, is very narrow and winding for about 9miles, but it's isolation is part of its charm.
Location: Walking Not far from Oban
Very atmospheric Beautiful views of the loch Lovely interior decor Meals were excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury however convivial in middle of highlands

Posted Aug 14, 2015
A wonderfull loch view from à wonderfull room Romantic stay in the middle of the highlands
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way out in the middle of nowhere

Posted Jul 17, 2015
This is definitely not the place to stay if you are wanting to sight see in the area. It takes a long, long time to get to the hotel, and the nearest restaurant is at least 40 minutes away. Given the price and reviews, we had high expectations. However, in a month-long tour of the UK and France, this was definitely the most disappointing place we stayed. Ironically, it was also the most expensive. We stayed in bed-and-breakfasts and 4- and 5-star hotels the whole month - all surpassed this hotel for cleanliness, quality, and friendliness of staff. This hotel was pretentious, but without the quality to back it up. However, the hotel and grounds are in a beautiful setting, and the scenery around Scotland was definitely not lacking! Other highlights were hiking around the hotel. I'd only recommend the hotel if your focus is to enjoy the grounds and get away from it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury break

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Restaurant was excellent
Cons: Some re-decoration necessary
Location: Very remote - completely isolated. You need to bring your own fishing tackle if interested in taking out a boat on Loch
Very remote location - but beautiful Best described as faded elegance and perhaps slightly pretentious First rate restaurant - excellent food and wine choices Fairly expensive rooms considering relative lack of facilities Attentive staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Edinburgh

Grand Victorian house in the widerness

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Great location and views from the public rooms across loch Awe, Fine large victorian house.
It is a fine building at the end of a lovely drive and in a great location which ticked all the boxes of what we were looking for. Ultimately though we were left feeling a little disappointed by our experience. We only stayed one night for a brief getaway and having booked on line and seeing it was pet friendly we took our dog. A few things fell short of what we expected: Pet friendly - true ish but for an unannounced fee of £20 (what for ?? - it stayed in our room in a cage we brought) Dinner - hobsons choice of a tasting menu for £50 each (plus wine) - so we resorted to the steak pie in the pub 3 miles away. Breakfast was extra and while nice and served by lovely staff at £16.50 each wasn't worth it. At approximately twice the cost of the next competitive hotel around - and we expected more - a room described as with a garden view, while nicely decorated and clean was a bit of a dim box without any view worth calling as much. The whole hotel was too hot - (surprising I know) and though they have lots of wonderful open fireplaces there wasn't one fire alight on a wet February weekend ! Drop the temperature by 10 degrees C and light the fires and it would have been perfect. The gardens are very overgrown and sadly lots of scrap and rubbish (fire pits, plastic shotgun cartridge wads, scrap trailers, fridges old sinks and loos). With a little effort (and a lot of gardening) it could be a really great place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014