Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
locatcion is so bad , small hotel , no elevator , old key not card , not safe > no camera , no save box in room. What can I say . I get one night in there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Armenia

Typical 3 star hotel though expensive

Posted Oct 12, 2015
The hotel is good in its class, however, the price of over $100 for two people with breakfast is too much. Breakfast is basic without hot meal and the room is rather small. We stayed only one night and did not have enough experience with the staff. Overall it is a good hotel and I would stay there again if the price was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly, well run hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, good food.
Cons: Everything was fine for my needs. The tourist map could be clearer, but that's hardly the hotel's fault!
Location: Somewhat out of the way, but I had no difficulty in walking to the centre & back - & I'm 80. Close to the hotel Cafe Entree is a good patisserie.
This was my first stay in Tbilisi, and I came on holiday to get a feel of the city which is twinned with my English home town, Bristol. I travelled alone & stayed 4 nights. I tried to get a feel of the place by exploring, mainly on foot, & not just heading for the obvious tourist spots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Seattle

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Stuff
Cons: Everything is fine
Location: Location is good, 12 minutes to walk to Square of Freedom
Everything was very good, if we will going to be in Tbilisi next time, stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nicely renovated hotel, a bit less convenient

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: A large room, some English-speaking staff, pro e is probably reasonable for a large city.
Cons: More clear about location.
Location: We took a walk on a tourist path that went to Mother Georgia statue and Narqala Fortress. Follow the road uphill to the big botanical gardens buildin
Hotel Diplomat is a pleasant, nicely renovated hotel. The front desk staff speak some English, which is very helpful. Unfortunately for us, it is about 1 mile from Freedom Square and uphill all the way. We like to walk but this was quite tiring. The closest restaurant is perhaps a quarter of a mile away - Mary. Astor Cafe - which we liked a lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Aleksey from Russia

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
Quite good hotel for the stay, is not crowded and with the friendly staff. Minuses are location (a bit away from main streets) and neighborhood (no restaurants/shops nearby). Room is clean, was surprised that there was no safe deposit box there. Keep it in mind
4 out of 5
by Phil from UK

Good service and condition, too far out

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel and staff good. Hotel about two or three star but clean and ok.. Location about a mile from freedom square and a taxi ride.
2 out of 5
by L from Armenia

low quality

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: staff pretended to serve good, but I feel that they are doing so, not because of their nature, but they had instraction from boss to be kind...
I was disappointed with the quality of body care (shampoo, soap, body lotion) is very low quality, as after using it I got alergy, all my body was irritated. Make sure you take some staff with you. there is no view at all, as the hotel was located at the edge of Tbilisi. the way to find its place was very difficlte, even Taxi driver didn't recognize the address. the smartphone navigation worked slow and not adequate at Tbilisi. Near the hotel is construction site with NOIS, after 8pm it was stopped, but before that, it was awefull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MV from USA

Good value hotel and great service from staff.

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Pleasant and helpful staff.
Cons: More modern decor in the room.
Hotel is about a 15 min walk to Old Town (add 5 min on way back to hotel as it's a little uphill). Taxi to Old Town costs 3-5 lari. Staff at reception are pleasant and very helpful. They get back to you if they're not able to anwer your question immediately. There is no lift, but they help bring your luggage to your room. Room is spacious and clean, although the decor is an acquired taste. AC works well and wi-fi connection is fast. No bathtub in bathroom, but shower space is more than adequate. There is hot water and good water pressure in the shower. There is a faint (emphasis on faint) funky smell when you open the bathroom door (could be from old pipes). To be fair, I didn't report this as it didn't bother me too much. There's nothing as far as restaurants/night life in the immediate area, but it's a lot quieter at night compared to hotels in Old Town where I also stayed. I will stay here again next time I'm in Tbilisi.