Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Perfect view and perfect home away from home

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Absolutely stunning view and peaceful. John and Trude really did a great job welcoming us and making us feel relaxed the whole stay. We will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Henderson

magic Bethells

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome
4 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice cottage but overpriced for what it is.

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very secluded down a long winding road. Beautiful view of far away beach. No beach access. No food options within at least 30 mins. You must bring food for all your meals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful Cottages with spectacular view

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Location: Easy to just wander around on the beach for ages and be in beautiful surroundings.
Peaceful and relaxing with an abundance of facilities to keep entertained such as table tennis, hot tub, hammocks, benches, large outdoor chess game and of course the beach itself. This is the "Xena" beach and the scenery is definitely spectacular. The place has a very home-like feel and owners Trude and John are easy to talk to. Would love to return and stay even longer. Perfect if you want to get away and paint/write that book.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Whaou

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: tout, l'accueil, la vue, le spa et l'appartement
Tres tres beau cottage avec des propriétaires en or. c'est un endroit tres romantique
5 out of 5
by Emily from Portland, OR

magical beginning

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
What a perfect place to start our holiday in New Zealand! We headed to the cottages after landing in Auckland and stocking up on some groceries. The rough road to the cottages was unexpected, and additional signage directing to the location, as well as parking, would have been helpful. Possible improvements would be air conditioning and window screens. However, our apartment at Bethells Beach Cottages was absolutely amazing. A magical location with a gorgeous view, adorably furnished. John was friendly and welcoming, and gave us some fantastic tips for exploring the area, including a nearby lake and of course the black sand beach below. I wish we could have stayed a whole week! Absolutely wonderful, thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Stunning views

Posted Jan 18, 2016
We stayed here while doing the Hillary Walk. There are very few places to stay at Bethel's. This is quite expensive for a walk, but it is worth it. Outstanding views of the sea and the dunes form the South end of Bethells. An unusual view on a beach that has few outlooks. Watch the sun go down. Bring your overseas friends!
5 out of 5
by Antti

Relaxing stay at Bethells beach

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed with Trude and John for two days in an apartment below their home, the apartment was really nice and it had god size bed, kitchen and sitting area with table for four inside and outside it had own small terrace with wood burning grill and table for four. The views from the apartment are towards the yard and you can see the sea from the kitchen, but if you really want nice views I would book one of the two cottage units they have there, those have great views towards Bethells Beach and the sea. Our apartment was warm and stayed warm and dry for whole night with all the windows closed. I would definitely stay there for more than one night and it is one of the best places to rest after your holiday before you are going to the airport, but also Auckland city dwellers use this place to come and relax, probably because the place and the keepers are relaxed and the place warm and cosy.
5 out of 5
by Lindsay from Dunedin, NZ

A little piece of West Auckland paradise

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
Quiet, beautiful views, splendid garden, apartment has everything you need. Owners are helpful and kind. This accommodation sits above one of greater Auckland's best beaches. A great place to unwind and get away from it all.