Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario

Convenient hotel near Waitomo Glow Worm Caves

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Hotel staff were very accommodating regarding of late arrival. Room was large and had a small kitchenette. We had only a of night stay but I would have been happy for stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with modern design

Posted Dec 10, 2016
The hotel was close to restaurants (within short driving distances) and other shops. The lady at the counter was welcoming, very polite and nice. The room was also well designed and comfortable. My kids especially enjoyed playing with the dog at the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Clean, comfortable and inexpensive, worth it!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Comfortable firm bed.
Cons: Extra towels.
Location: We went to the caves and the Harryfeet Hobbit tour in the rain and both were great.
The bed was comfortable, everything was spotless, close to great restaurants, we had a great experience, would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Good for just a night's stay

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: WIFI was good, beds were comfortable, TV had decent channels
Cons: When the conditions are rainy and cold, maybe warm up the room
Location: We went black water rafting the next day
We got there in the early evening and it was a rainy night. All the windows were open and the rooms (we had two rooms) were freezing cold. Once they warmed up, they were comfortable enough. For some reason we got the handicap room and the shower was also handicap. It sprayed water all over the bathroom floor so you had to walk in with shoes on or barefoot. WIFI was good and everything else was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rancho palos verdes, CA

Very comfortable room

Posted May 22, 2016
Motel looks like nothing from the outside but rooms very comfortable. The woman who worked the front office was very lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Service was above and beyond

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Clean, modern, great service.
Location: About 15 mins from Waitomo caves. Bosco cafe across the road well worth a visit. New World supermarket 200m down the road.
Stayed with my family overnight, the unit was good size, modern, clean and well equipped. The main road runs past the motel and we were in a unit near the front so there was some road noise from large trucks passing through but not enough to interrupt my sleep or adversely impact our enjoyment of the room. We had an issue with a couple of the bedroom halogen spotlights which weren't able to be fixed but the motellier was kind enough to provide a bedside lamp to allow us to read and they gave us cafe vouchers the next day as an apology, which was not necessary or expected but was very much appreciated. From what I could see online and driving past other motels in the area (Te Kuiti and Waitomo) it's probably one of the more modern ones around there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nipawin, SK, Canada

Too hot in room

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: Space inside was nice . Bathroom had a lovely spa tub.
Cons: Ability to cool off the room. Too hot to settle to sleep. Noisy outside wth road construction.
Location: Many things to investigate. Went to the glow worm caves & it was an enjoyable experience,
Room had a wall AC unit but ha sly any cool air blowing from source. Big window faced afternoon/Eve sun so room very hot. Road work being done & extremely noisy with windows open. Kitchen ware was very minimal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Great room for a family. needs a sink in the kitchenette
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Possible the best hotel in Waitomo

Posted Nov 13, 2015
We stayed here two times on a holiday when passing by. This hotel is next the main road. I am a light sleeper, the noise from the main road doesn't bother me too much. Some rooms have river views. I don't call that is a river but view is beautiful especially during the sunset. The facilities are very good. The beds are comfortable. There is a gift shop close by you might want to have a look. The cafe over the road is very popular. There is an one hour bush walking over the road. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a nice and quiet room in a lovely setting.

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: clean and very comfortable.
Location: The Waitomo Glow Worm caves only a short 20minute drive away. On a short trip back to the coast for a sightseeing afternoon. Very central.
We enjoyed our brief 2 night stay. It was a good location to explore the glow worm caves. nice friendly staff and lovely bright, clean and comfortable stay.