Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Good experience all the way around. Close to everythng
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always listening to our customers so that we can continue to improve our hotel and its services to our guests. Say hi next time you stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Aug 4, 2017
I am from Alaska, and have stayed in a lot of hotels in Anchorage. I chose this one due to the location being so close to the airport. As I was checking in the lady at the front counter told me this is one of the best hotels in Anchorage. After checking I was walking to my room and just the look of the place told me this place hasnt had an upgrade since maybe 1992 maybe 95. I overall appearance was rather disgusting. If the lady at the front desk hadnt spoke so highly of this place I most likely wouldnt be on here writing this review. I just want to make tourest aware that there is much better hotels just down the road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our property. We do yearly upgrades inn all areas of the hotel. We will be starting bathroom remodels in September. We hope you give us the opportunity to show you our improvements the next time your in Anchorage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Easton md

Very good service and atmosphere

Posted Jul 26, 2017
First time to Alaska. The staff was very polite and the restaurant and bar staff were very friendly. Only veru minor issue was no elevator. Other thsn thay s good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We work hard at making your stay both comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Anchorage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free pickup from the airport.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Our arrival was to be close to midnight. After traveling all day this hotel was near the airport and we were able to get checked in and settled quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We work hard to make your stay both comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Anchorage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

is a OK hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The location is good is near the airport. and closed to downtown.
Location: Is not to much to do nearby in Alaska you need to drive every where.
This hotel is good near the airport. The staff is good, Alaska is a beautiful place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We use your input to help improve our hotel and our services to our guest's. There are things you have to drive to but we actually are walking distance to the Aviation Museum, Segway tours around Lake Hood just our the back door of the hotel and the Harley Davidson Shop is also a quick walk from the hotel. We hope you see you on your next stay in Anchorage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The hotel was a great place to stay before our cruise. They were very helpful in getting us from and to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of the hotel. We work hard to make your stay with us both relaxing and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Anchorage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WINDSOR CO

THIS PLACE SUCKS

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: PROMPT SHUTTLE SERVICE
Cons: THIS ENTIRE PLACE NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED
Location: VERY CLOSE TO ANCHORAGE INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT
SINGLE FLOOR BUILDING/LOTS OF WALKING IN DIMLY LIT HALLS; VERY LONG WALK TO DINING AREA & BAR. SMALL ROOM WITH VERY SMALL TV. $50.00 CHARGE UPON CHECK-IN WHICH WAS NOT EXPLAINED WHAT IT WAS FOR. FOOD IN BAR WAS OVER PRICED & OVER COOKED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear of your review of the hotel. We are a two story hotel. We are doing upgrades through out the hotel this year. Pipers Restaurant and Sports Lounge has good ratings on all Internet sites, we are going to look into why your experience was sub par to our usual level of customer satisfaction. We truly hope you give us another opportunity to show our improvements the next time you are in Anchorage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Nice hotel close to float plane base

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location, restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Decor a bit tired.
Location: Close to lake Hood, float plane base. Numerous trips around Anchorage with hotel pick up
Nice hotel, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good food, seafood past was excellent. Airport curtesy bus took us to Lake Hood which we did not expect - especially at 5:15 in the morning!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We work hard to make your stay with us both relaxing and enjoyable. We hope to see you on your next trip to Anchorage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Decent place close to airport

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Curtains
Location: Seward and Kenai Fjords is a 2.5 hour drive away.
The place is very close to the airport. Decent for a night or two's stay. The curtains do not block the outside light completely, so the room cannot get dark in the summer months. There was a slight cigarette smell in the room too. Free breakfast options are few, but you can get a discount on a la carte. Walls are thin and the noise level is high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We take your input seriously. We will check into the room you stayed in. We have black out curtains in each room. We hope we show you our improvements on your next stay with nus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel but handy for the airport.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Hotel is older - room was ok but had a noticeable stale smell even though it was a non-smoking room. Very good breakfast room, and an attached sports bar and patio. Hotel reasonably priced, but even though we had paid for our whole stay well in advance, they put a hold on our credit card for around US $600! This was not mentioned to us at check-in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Jerry Gibson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are looking into our procedures at the front desk on the Amenities hold on credit cards upon check in. We are looking into the room you stayed in also to make sure it is put into the best operating condition for our guests. We hope to see you on your next stay in Anchorage.