Ratings based on 872 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Was not treated as a worthy customer

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Im disabled, walk with devices. We were put on 3rd floor, no elevator. I was there for medical reasons. Was told our room was not ready, we had arrangements for main hotel, 1st floor. Had explained everything during reservations, even had confirmation email and text. Housekeeping was worse we ever had, took towels away, no replacements, no bedding change when it was requested, only garbage done. Phone calls to office not answered, would have to walk 1/2 block each time, thats after already requesting housekeeping etc, needing items. Had neighbors knocking on door at 3 am, slamming doors. We were there 4 days prepaid, totally disappointed in how we were treated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Sep 18, 2017
They were overbooked so they gave us a suite at the same price. Great breakfast also
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, dear guest! It's our pleasure to provide you with the best services you deserve. I hope you enjoyed your time in Alaska and we can't wait to see you back! Don't forget to follow us on Facebook for our news and specials. Have a great day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Reasonably priced, clean, near airport.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The price and the location.
Location: Near Ted Stevens airport and Lake Hood. You can walk around the lake and take an airplane from the lake! The Lakefront hotel has a nice restaurant.
We chose the Puffin Inn because it was a reasonable price and near the airport (we were arriving from a transatlantic flight and just wanted a place to sleep for one night). The staff is friendly and helpful (recommended restaurants) and the hotel was clean and adequate for our needs. The room was small (we stayed in the annex) but adequate for us as we were just sleeping there. There are several places to eat nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Gwen, I am so happy we were able to satisfy your needs! Thank you for the great feedback and kind words. Have a safe flight! Respectfully, Yana, Puffin Inn Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

P.O.S. Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Leaving!
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location is close to airport....... that's all!
No heat in room (they gave us a small electric space heater to compensate), dirty room, street noise and noise coming from convenience store where all the crack heads hang out, staff not very friendly. There is more but unfortunately it is NOT good!!! I will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, please take my sincere apologies for the experience you had. We take these reviews very seriously, so I definitely appreciate you taking the time to write us out a review. If you could provide me with some more information such as in which room you stayed and what situation made you feel like our staff is not friendly, I would greatly appreciate that. We respect each of our guests opinions and always look forward to hearing their feedback. We will work hard to improve. Thank you, Fred! Have a great day! Respectfully, Yana, Puffin Inn Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southeast, Texas

Terrible location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We were placed in the "Annex building" which is across the parking lot from the Hotel. The room was clean and up to date. We woke up around 5am the next morning and walked to the lobby around 5:30am. There were several people outside our building drinking heavily and playing catch with a football in between our parked cars. Very loud. It made it very uncomfortable. These people didn't look to be guest. We then went inside to have some complimentary breakfast. The coffee was cold for starters. We then tried to make us some waffles, but the timer on the machine was broken. We had to scrape 2 waffles out due to them going to pieces. The attendant didn't seem to care at all. He finally started messing with it, then said he would be right back, never to return. We burnt one more waffle, then gave up and left. Skip this hotel no matter the price. As a matter tif fact, skip Anchorage all together if possible. It is a terrible, dirty city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southeast, Texas

Terrible staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The main facility in nice. Our room was in the "Anex building" out back. All was well until we walked out of our room at 5:30am to find a huge malt liquor party going on in the parking lot. Not only were the people loud, but they were throwing a football in between our cars in the parking lot. Very uncomfortable walking through there with my wife. We then made it to the complementary breakfast. The coffee was cold to start with. We then tried to make waffles just to find out the timer didn't work. This resulted in us having to chisel 3 waffles out before a staff person came to check on us. He fiddled with it, then said he'd be right back never to return. We later seen him wandering around other areas. Never again will we give this hotel our money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Robert, I am very disappointed with the experience you had. Our team appreciate your feedback and will make sure to fix the issues you had. I am sorry about the situation you saw in the parking lot, usually, our management team immediately takes care of such incidents when they occur. Please take our apologies that you witnessed such an inconvenience. Respectfully, Yana, Puffin Inn Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fans and air in room very noisy

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Ok, but room was hot and fan was noisy. It was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to review Puffin Inn. I am very sorry that you experienced some issues with the fan. Next time, please don't hesitate to notify our front desk if you have any concerns, they would be more than happy to assist you. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again. Have a great day! Best, Yana, Puffin Inn Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The staff were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was great! It was wonderful to have the shuttle between the airport and the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a great review! I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Very accommodating staff, knowledgeable about the area and transportation schedules etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Harold, such a pleasure to read your review. I am glad that our staff was very helpful and made your stay enjoyable. Thanks for the feedback. Have a good day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

very nice hotel,

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: Close to downtown, easy walking distance to restaurants, stores and museums
very nice rooms, good breakfast and right on the dock. Easy access to our day cruise. Would definitely recommend. Nice gift shop too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Yana, Puffin Inn Management, Hotel Management
Linda, we appreciate your kind words, I will pass them along to our team! Thank you for this great review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back! Have a good one! Sincerely, Yana, Puffin Inn Management