Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

Wedding Anniversary

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Very attentive staff, lovely location and excellent food.
Cons: Larger TV's in the Fountain Suite, they are a bit small compared to the size of the rooms.
Location: We didn't explore anything nearby so unable to comment on the surrounding location
I booked the Fountain Suite which is a wonderful suite with old charm, albeit probably a bit over the top for a 1 night stay! The Spa treatment was excellent (Deep muscle massage) and the staff were really friendly. We ate in the main restaurant and the food was delicious. All in all this was a wonderful stay for our anniversary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Sep 3, 2017
All lovely staff and hotle...Bar prices ridiculous!!!! Recommend to take your own and have an evening drink in the comfort of the lovely room..2 drinks = price of a 70cl bottle spirits. #fartooexpensive
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Will be back

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and lovely grounds
5 out of 5
by Leonard

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night at the hall with my wife as part of my birthday celebrations. The room was in the old hall - Miss Bruce's room. The room was a pleasure to be in, very spacious with a claw foot bath as a focal feature. (I had collected a free night through hotels.com) the full price for the night would have been £135 room only. I was a bit disappointed breakfasts wasn't included in the price, but the room had some nice perks. A small full sherry decanter, a few soft drinks, and in the evening the bed was turned down and a few chocolates left. The hall has a quiet atmosphere in lavish surroundings but for those wanting to venture out to the pubs, Guisborough town is only a few miles away. Great location for visiting Saltburn, Stathes and Whitby. For a special occasion I would defiantly return. Rooms in the old hall or Woodside seem to be the best - but as expected the price is higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
First class hotel with excellent restaurant. About half an hour from Whitby in extensive grounds.
5 out of 5
by Phil

A fantastic period country house hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
A fantastic period country house hotel. Really nice rooms, good facilities (coffee, biscuits, water in room). Lovely breakfast (did not stay in for other meals).
4 out of 5
by Sau Mei May

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed three nights at this hotel. Overall it is really valid for money. The restaurant food are very very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Excellent facility and staff could not ask for a more welcoming place. Stayed in the Rose room what a beautiful view from bay window.
4 out of 5
by joan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels