Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haworth

Expensive Hotel with very cheap toilet paper

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Used our Expedia voucher on this stay, glad we did as would not have been happy paying over £130 for a room only. Stayed in Woodlands wing a long way from main hotel. Rooms are NOT what are shown on their website. Spoiled by cheap toilet paper b&b standard tea & coffee facilities in room. Thin walls very noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

Wedding Anniversary

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Very attentive staff, lovely location and excellent food.
Cons: Larger TV's in the Fountain Suite, they are a bit small compared to the size of the rooms.
Location: We didn't explore anything nearby so unable to comment on the surrounding location
I booked the Fountain Suite which is a wonderful suite with old charm, albeit probably a bit over the top for a 1 night stay! The Spa treatment was excellent (Deep muscle massage) and the staff were really friendly. We ate in the main restaurant and the food was delicious. All in all this was a wonderful stay for our anniversary!
5 out of 5
by Clare

wonderful

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
We were made to feel very welcome, staff were lovely and attentive without being overbearing. Room was warm and clean and the food was delicious. Will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Not a positive stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
We were looking forward to our evening meal only to be told at 6.30 we would have to wait until 8.45 for the restaurant or 9.00 for the bistro in the bar! The only option we had was to order room service, which was basically the same menu as the bistro which was delivered in 30 mins from being ordered. We do not believe there was a different kitchen for room service just did not want people in the restaurant?? The hotel is dog friendly, just, the room service quality was good, the room was large and airy but the shower similar to a telephone box but the stay had been spoilt by not having the choice to eat in the restaurant in a reasonable time. It would appear that the hotel wanted to fill the restaurant with external guests at the expense of residential guests. Will we stay again .... knowing that there are many more ' hospitable' hotels to chose from ...???
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Nice night away

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Found the hotel setting vey good, staff friendly and vert comfortable room. Restaurant was busy so walked the half mile into Guisborough where there are lots of cafes and bars. breakfast was lovely and finished off a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Sep 3, 2017
All lovely staff and hotle...Bar prices ridiculous!!!! Recommend to take your own and have an evening drink in the comfort of the lovely room..2 drinks = price of a 70cl bottle spirits. #fartooexpensive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Such a lovely hotel, great service and great location. A little more pricey than we would normally go for but it was a treat for our anniversary and it was worth it! Xx
5 out of 5
by Shaun

2 night stay

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful hotel set in a fantastic scenic environment,the staff very very helpful and accommodating,the rooms very clean,although aircon would be appreciated in the rooms I would definitely re visit
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels