Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our planned quite weekend turned to be unpleasant

Posted Feb 11, 2018 on Hotels
Very noisy due to the fact that the building next door is been built. We were promised by the gentleman who checked us in that our room is quite and that they never work on Fridays- that was a lie as after we woke up at 6:20am from the hammers and cement truck and went down for very early coffee, the construction manager told us that they working every Friday. That lead to few more lies by the staff who apologized and said that they aree working only for one hour on Fridays. Also the aircondetioners in the rooms was set on heat while it was 27 degrees Celsius what made our stay noisy, hot and totally unpleasant. We have been in few of the Atlas hotels which were great. ArtPlus is just not up to their standard. The picture is taken from our room after we were promised that we are getting a room facing a quite area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by Sivan Morad, Guest Relations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Dani W, Thank you for your review. Guest opinions matter most to us and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered during your stay. Please note, however, that we never promise guests there will be absolutely no noise as this is impossible due to the fact that our hotel is in the heart of Tel Aviv. We apologize if you misunderstood the way the front desk was explaining his personal experiences with noise at the hotel and that he finds it very minimal. Unfortunately construction work is currently taking place near to the hotel, similarly to what is taking place all around Tel Aviv right now. They do not work every day and we do apologize for the noise they make. We hardly get complaints regarding this and we have never heard them start before 7 am yet we will look into the matter of your complaint regarding starting time. Nevertheless, we deeply apologize for any inconvenience you were caused. Therefore when we saw a quieter room opened up we offered you to transfer however you declined. On Saturdays there is never work so it is understandable you chose not to move. In addition, we would also like to apologize about the air-conditioning. We do work on a central motor system, meaning the entire system is either set to hot or cold. During winter months the system is set to heat. We understand that there have been days this winter that have been unusually warm during the day, but at night the temperature drops between 11 -13 degrees and heating is needed. We greatly apologize for any discomfort this has caused and these comments will be looked into further. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Artplus hotel and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Centrally located, great happy hour, clean and interesting art idea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2018 by Sivan Morad, Guest Relations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Renee, Thank you for your feedback! We are deligted by your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Regards, Oded Kaufman, General Manager, ArtPlus Hotel Sivan Morad, Guest Relations Department, Atlas Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Great location, but small rooms

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
I liked this hotel, it was located close to the beach and had a nice happy hour. The gym was also nice and had a good breakfast. My only complaints are that the rooms are tiny and the front desk wasn't able to provide any recommendations for good restaurants close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Sivan Morad, Guest Relations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for writing this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with aspects of the hotel. We rely on our front desk to be knowledgeable of the surrounding area and we apologize that this was not the case when you asked for restaurant recommendations. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best Regards, Oded Kaufman, General Manager, ArtPlus Hotel Sivan Morad, Guest Relations Department, Atlas Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Great hotel Amazing Breakfast and Happy zhours st 5pm Very helpful and friendly staff. Second visit great location love bag and towels for the beach. Recommend it to friends and family hoping to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson, AZ

Loved breakfast and happy hour. Great location .

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything.
Location: Wa King distance from major activities and beach.
Middle of city, near beach. Clean rooms, great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Another wonderful Stay

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Price, Staff, Location
Fourth time staying at this hotel. Friendly warm staff Staff is incredible in making arrangements: massages, dinner reservations, taxis. Rooms are typical Israeli "cosy"(read european small) but nicely appointed. Breakfast is wonderful. Close to Beach. PRICE is excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel near Tel Aviv beaches

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Staff super helpful
Cons: Décor in room was so so but that is also a matter of taste.
Location: Beaches and some really good restaurants within spitting distance.
Great staff, very helpful. Breakfast was top notch and a really impressive happy hour. Art theme was mixed with some really interesting exhibits in the common space, staple art in our room was less successful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Cosy and central hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: I stubbed my toe on the bed leg because there was so little room between the wall and the bed. More room needed.
Location: Very central and walkable. Close to the beach, restaurants, the market and a bus that took us to Jaffa.
The excellent staff, and location great breakfast and happy hour more than made up for the small room . We would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear J, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Regards, Oded Kaufman, General Manager, ArtPlus Hotel Sivan Morad, Guest Relations Department, Atlas Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Great place for a welcome break

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Artplus is a convenient location (Handy for beach, restaurants and shopping) comfortable rooms and public areas, with a great breakfast and afternoon 'happy hour' nibbles and drinks. Staff were very friendly and helpful, 24 hours. No problems experienced. Only negative is the building and carpets (room and hallway) need some cleaning and maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017
Dear Kevin, Thank you for writing this review. We are happy that you were satisfied with our great location in the busy city. We appreciate your compliments regarding our comfortable rooms, great breakfast, fun happy hour, and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Oded Kaufman, General Manager, ArtPlus Hotel Sivan Morad, Guest Relations Department, Atlas Hotels