Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wirral

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings with polite and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Topeka, KS, USA

Parking light lighten

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Cons: Parking lot lighting
First off I am 75 years old. While walking after dark from the far parking lot to the main entrance I was blinded by two large ground level lights. When I put my hand up to block one of them I tripped over a raised sidewalk and took a nasty fall. No major damage, just sore and black-n-blue. When I reported it to the receptionist on duty she seemed not to care. To my knowledge she made no record of it or even took my name. I would suggest the management take the same walk to see the problem I am talking about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
overall good but the dinning room is very dimly lit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Hotel with massive character

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The situation of the hotel is a great strength. Secluded in its own grounds. The buildings need a little investment and love from its new owners (August 2017) Would love to revisit in the Spring to see how matters have developed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

One Night!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness inside and out
Grand setting, but a little soleless. Not helped by debris outside window, heating that did not turn down, a 13 amp socket that did not work and a cobweb in a corner. Good Mercure bed and classic Mercure room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Picturesque setting

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The grounds and buildings of this hotel are simply amazing. Our room was small but clean, and there was a heavy glass door that separated the room from the entry way and bathroom - not sure why. We did see several areas where rooms appeared to be up steep stairs, luckily we were on the ground floor. The staff were pleasant, food was fine, and parking easy. I can see why this hotel is focused on weddings as the atmosphere is beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

don't bother booking....

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: Staff politeness and care. The place is beautiful.
Location: Nothing. Difficult to find, road signs dreadful. On leaving we went to Ironbridge and the Wrekin which is superb. People nice and friendly.
We arrived in the dark and the satnav directs you through a cul de sac estate. There Are no road signs and the staff on arrival laughed saying ' there is no exit from the estate to the hotel' The hotel is not signposted and the only sign is not lit. The hotel had few staff who seemed reluctant to serve or help us apart from one woman who did everything from night porter to find I a drink, to locating the other missing staff. Without her the place will crumble. And probably should do. A review of staffing, politeness, availability.....not hiding behind a wall and two desks to obscure guests, and a general tidy up would do well here. Add some road signs, and 24 information about wifi no you might improve what looks like a beautiful hideaway with glamorous surroundings. All in all a really dreadful experience. Such a pity, what a waste of such a lovely ace.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and lovely setting

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
beautiful building
5 out of 5
by David

Delightful stopover

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Ancient buildings skilfully adapted as excellent mnodern hotel set in quiet wooded parkland with lake. Food good and generous
4 out of 5
by Samantha

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Unfortunately they were unable to provide me with an invoice for the amount I had paid which meant that I had to spend half of my weekend getting hold of the correct documents.