Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff were informed of my travel plan changes from my previous stay and did nothing to accommodate. Was charged a high rate for a night I was not even able to use. Customer service is important and being ignored is rude. Even if you are unable to assist a guest you should try or at least explain why. I will now never use this hotel again and I urge others to seriously consider othe smarter nicer hotels in Shrewsbury. For £100 you can get so much better and not have the frustration of being ignored.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Sorry to read of your negative experience however, without having the full details of your booking it is difficult for me to comment. As you have used a third party to book with us any amendments to your reservation would usually have to be made with them and not directly with the hotel but if you would like me to look into this further for you please contact me directly at the hotel. Best regards Stuart General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from near londond

Convenient for town and area. Good parking

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Convenient for local area. Good Parking. But it should not be a four star hotel. Basic rooms and public areas. Room and bathroom were not overly clean. Meal in restaurant was good in the evening but very quiet for a saturday evening. Breakfast was disappointing as the hote plates for the buffet did not keep the food hot or warm. Wasnt particularly cheap - £85 night for twin, and standard is more like a premier Inn. Only stay there as convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Dear Aje, Thank you for your review, I will share your feed back here with the team and look to make improvements. Dan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Very basic standards hotel for that price could get a better deal. Hotel staff was ok, had to wait more than 20' at the restaurant for someone to get my order so left and had my dinner elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Dan , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I will share your feed back here with the team and look to make improvements. Dan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truro, Cornwall

Nice, clean hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The check-in staff were friendly and it was quick. Throughout my stay staff stayed friendly and willing to help. The room was clean and spacious. Shame there is no air-con though. Facilities were available but the pool heater was broken, so water was really cold, also The Sauna was far too hot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Thank you for review. I am pleased to report that the swimming pool is now warmer. Hopefully it won't be too long before we welcome you back to the hotel. Dan Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool closed

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I stayed here with kids for pool but closed because the heater not working
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2nd stay, and will return again

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Staff was great, friendly and helpful
Cons: Larger buffet plates as more people fill the restaurant
Location: Walking distance to the shopping center and international center
Check in was painless, which was great since we arrived just before midnight and we were exhausted. We got the package that included breakfast. Two mornings we were in the restaurant around 8AM and we had lots of options and little to no wait for buffet plates. One morning we arrived around 830AM and had to wait for fresh plates to come out, they didnt seem to have enough for the amount of people waiting. Staff was great.
4 out of 5
by Mandy

hot and noisy but friendly staff.

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
The room had no temperature control and it was soooo humid and hot throughout the whole stay whether day or night. The window had to be opened but the noise from the air con units (!) and the motorway was unbearable causing a very disturbed sleep.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by ian

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient location. Friendly reception. Breakfast cooked to order very good.